• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro-106: Manually putting just a few frequencies in my scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
12
Location
raytown
#1
I would like to just put a few frequencies in my scanner from my city but am having trouble, i don't have money to buy a subscription so it downloads it to my scanner for me so im trying to do it manually. could someone "dumb" it down for me? i have all the talkgroup numbers i want to install. thank you for reading

These are what i want to manually put on my scanner, i have the arc 500 program but cant figure it out....PLEASE HELP

DEC HEX Mode Alpha Tag Description Tag
34200 8598 D Raytown PD A Raytown Police Dispatch
34201 8599 D Raytown PD B Raytown Police Law Talk
34202 859a D Raytown PD C Raytown Police Law Talk
34203 859b D Raytown PD D Raytown Police Law Talk
34204 859c D Raytown PD E Raytown Police Law Talk
34212 85a4 D Raytown PWKS Raytown Public Works Public Works
34219 85ab D Raytown EMS Raytown EMS Dispatch EMS Dispatch
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
12
Location
raytown
#3
No, that doesn't help.That page is filled with more stuff than the manual and confuses me more. I'm just looking to put 7 frequencies in my scanner that's it.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2005
Messages
341
Location
JoCo, KS (SoDak native)
#4
program "frequencies"

from the list you gave, that is a digital trunking system (KMCO MARRS?). you need to enter it as a trunking system with the correct site frequencies.

The KSMO MARRS system is listed in the frequency directory (under MO)

The Wiki has several articles on trunking, you need to understand the system in order to enter it correctly.

you will need the site frequencies in addition to the group list you have,


$.02
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
12
Location
raytown
#5
That is one of my hiccups i came into also, i cant find the frequencies for the ones i want

i think i found these


851.050c 851.325c 851.600c 851.825 851.8625c 852.050 852.075 852.175 852.225 852.4125
852.4375 852.5875 852.6625 852.7375 852.875 852.9625 852.9875 853.150 853.2375 853.4875
853.7375 854.1375 854.5875 854.7125 855.6625 856.1625

so those are the ones i need to use?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
12
Location
raytown
#8
i have the frequencies that i want to upload to my scanner, i am just looking for step by step instructions for "dummies"

851.050 851.1375 851.275 851.325 851.4875 851.600 851.8625 852.050
852.075 852.175 852.225 852.4125 852.4375 852.5875 852.6625 852.7375
852.875 852.9625 852.9875 853.150 853.2375 853.4875 853.7375 854.1375
854.5875 854.7125 855.6625 856.1625

are the frequencies i want to add
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
12
Location
raytown
#10
Thank you for your response! Your advice got me further than anyone's lol. so i followed your instructions, by using the control frequencies you listed and got them programmed into my scanner. but i have once again come into a problem. there are some encrypted ones i hear so when i click the l/out button to silence them (if that's what the button even does) and the screen stops scanning and says "nothing enabled" "pri" and i cant click scan again. did i not save it right? i have repeated the same steps again but i get stopped every time i try to silence the encrypted channels. again, thank you for your advice it really helped me figure this whole thing out.

I would like to add more frequencies now that i get that part, do i just click new and do it over but to a new scan list? and where would i find those freqencies, i had several listed but you only said i needed about four of them how do i tell which ones i really need?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3,041
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
#11
You probably have accidently engage priority scan and the only thing that where set to pri where that talkgroup you locked out.

To solve it push that pri button so that the pri text, or P symbol depending of scanner model, dissapears from the display.

/Ubbe
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top