• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

MDC ID aliasing

Status
Not open for further replies.

K8TEK

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
674
Location
Ohio
#1
Is there any way the admins can add a section so we can add aliases to MDC IDs? I know a lot of people use radios capable of decoding it, not to mention the WinMDC can too!
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
#3
K8TEK said:
Is there any way the admins can add a section so we can add aliases to MDC IDs? I know a lot of people use radios capable of decoding it, not to mention the WinMDC can too!
An idea similar to this was floated about radio id's for TRS'. The current answer is no, for a couple of reasons. It can quickly become an administrative nightmare and it also may prove just a bit invasive. I would assume that an MDC alias section in the DB would even add an additional layer in that there really is no function in the conventional are for attaching a list to an individual frequency or linking the frequencies together.
 

K8TEK

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
674
Location
Ohio
#4
Do one list per agency! I don't imagine a lot of people would use it, but it would be nice to have.
 

Gilligan

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,126
Location
Hagerstown, MD
#5
K8TEK said:
Do one list per agency! I don't imagine a lot of people would use it, but it would be nice to have.
It could have a link in the system notes and basically just be a text file. Anyone who wants to use it would have it. We use something similar for Unidentified Federal and Military here in OKC.
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,089
Location
Shavano Park, TX
#8
Please use the wiki for this type of stuff - you can create your own lists an databases there that any registered user can manage and access.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top