• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

MDC on APX7/7500

Status
Not open for further replies.

paloozapro

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
14
Location
Bethesda, MD
#1
Howdy folks. Another long time lurker, and first time poster -- a good sign if every one of my questions can be answered without needing to create threads!

I have a rack of commercial equipment as the in-house nerd for my company, and am trying to integrate two radios into our simple MDC calling system. I have an APX7 and APX75 that I cannot get to decode the trailing edge ID's.

I had found this thread, http://forums.radioreference.com/motorola-forum/185229-mdc-decode-xtl5000-apx7000.html , but the focus seemed to be on the XTS unit lacking in the code plug region. I've looked, and there doesn't seem to be an option for the APX series to have a digital ID function turned on, or off for that matter. My temporary conclusion is that I can't find the check box which reads "Decode MDC data" in CPS.

Could someone shed some light for me? Thanks.

APX7000
9S24M8-3116D7-1

APX7500
9A3558-0116R0-6

Cheers,
Mitch
 

paloozapro

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
14
Location
Bethesda, MD
#5

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
706
Location
CT
#7
Under Radio Ergonomics Configuration> Display, set the "PTT ID Display" drop down to "Dispatch and Scan"
 

paloozapro

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
14
Location
Bethesda, MD
#8
Under Radio Ergonomics Configuration> Display, set the "PTT ID Display" drop down to "Dispatch and Scan"
Changed those values and added time for the "End of Voice Timer", yet am still not getting any ID displayed...

Additional thoughts or ideas? The channel in the zone in question is configured as an MDC system as well.

Thank you for the help.
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
706
Location
CT
#9
I'm assuming you have assigned the MDC system to your Conventional Personality profile? If you'd like, e-mail the code plug and I'll scan through it.

Just to be clear, you are wanting to see the MDC ID of the transmitting radio on your radios display?
 

paloozapro

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
14
Location
Bethesda, MD
#10
I'm assuming you have assigned the MDC system to your Conventional Personality profile? If you'd like, e-mail the code plug and I'll scan through it.

Just to be clear, you are wanting to see the MDC ID of the transmitting radio on your radios display?
Happy to have a fresh set of eyes look at it.

Correct. We use a trailing edge MDC ID format, and although the APX's are transmitting their ID's at the end, they are not decoding other radios' ID's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top