• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Stations Mighty KBC 5960KHZ

Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
330
Location
Oklahoma City,OK
#1
Coming in with short fade outs here in Oklahoma. How is Mighty KBC coming in for your location? I am listening on a RadioShack 20-629 1.711KHZ to 29999KHZ radio.
 
Last edited:

vagrant

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
710
Location
California
#3
A peek on short-wave.info advises that Mighty KBC is on-air from 00:00 - 02:00 UTC Sunday on 5960. I definitely missed it.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
330
Location
Oklahoma City,OK
#4
Mighty KBC 5960khz AM Sundays 0000-0200UTC

Listen at these times. Pick the time Time Zone that is accurate to your USA location:
Saturdays:
8-10pm Eastern
7-9pm Central
6-8pm Mountain
5-7pm Pacific
2pm-4pm Hawaiian
3pm-5pm Alaska
6pm-8pm Costa Rica

Nothing, not even a carrier. 2000local 0700UTC.
New Zealand +13 hours GMT
Sundays 1pm-3pm
I have noticed the time is high noon there at the time it KBC broadcasts. The 60m band does well during the grey line propagation in the evening. You might want to listen in on a WebSDR like K3FEF or NA5B
K3FEF WebSDR in NE Pennsylvania
NA5B – WebSDR

The Mighty KBC Trucker Radio on 6095 AM Shortwave
 
Last edited:

mbott

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
296
Location
Delaware County OH EN80nd
#5
For the last two weekends, I've had some of the best conditions to listen to The Mighty KBC that I've experienced in quite a long time. It has been a nice change. Even the Voice of Turkey has cooperated by not interfering with KBC. :)

--
Mike
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
330
Location
Oklahoma City,OK
#6
Saturday evening is two nights away. Ap Index is estimated to be 10 which isn't promising for 60m band. Cross your fingers! Don't forget to tune in!
Mighty KBC 5960khz AM Sundays 0000-0200UTC

Listen at these times. Pick the time Time Zone that is accurate to your USA location:
Saturdays:
8-10pm Eastern
7-9pm Central
6-8pm Mountain
5-7pm Pacific
2pm-4pm Hawaiian
3pm-5pm Alaska
6pm-8pm Costa Rica
If you're state doesn't observe Daylight Savings Time add one hour.

Mighty KBC Transmits 1 minute of MFSK at half past the second hour. Use your preferred MFSK decoder. Please share your decoded image in https://forums.radioreference.com/threads/tonights-mightykbc-mfsk64.386282/
 
Last edited:

scanchs

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
288
Location
SC Lowcountry
#7
Mighty KBC is coming in like gangbusters at +20dB on my Icom R71A here in Coastal South Carolina this evening. It sounds really good so far. Will see if it lasts for the full two hours. Just for giggles, I put the frequency into my AOR AR-DV1 and it is also coming in strong on it. So much for the DV1 supposedly being deaf on HF. It sounds great to me.

ScanCHS
 
Last edited:
Top