• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

MIP 5000 Demo

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
474
Location
San Angelo, TX
#1
I have the motorola MIP 5000 demo installed and have been playing around in it and looking at all the demo configurations that have been pre-installed (For a lack of better words). I've created my own custom configuration but am stumped. I have read the script it came with. I'm wanting to edit the frequency alias or names for each of the channels and I'm also wanting to add more tabs in the "Multiple Tab Window" but it is grayed out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

n2hbx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
277
Location
Orlando, FL
#2
Make sure you select "Allow Layout Reconfiguration" at the top of the Edit dropdown. That will activate all the other windows in that dropdown. You should be able to make configuration changes and save them to the sample configuration directory.

Larry
 

n2hbx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
277
Location
Orlando, FL
#4
Tabs are easy. To add tabs: Allow Layout Cpnfiguration=>Multiple Tab Window. Type in a name for your new tab and select ADD. When finished, select OK. Your new tab will appear at the bottom of the work area.

Let's talk about channels now. The MIP considers "Channels" as the windows on the console desktop, generally a specific radio resource. Within the resource can be multiple frequencies. You cannot actually add channels in the demo. Channel additions are made in another application called the CSDM (Console System Database Manager). Inputting information into the CSDM builds the configurations and the console app pulls this information in when the operator selects the desired configuration from the list.

You can, however, play with the frequency names and the available options.

Going back to Allow Layout Configuration=>Resources. This will pop up a window with Global Resources on one side and Assigned Resources on the other. Global Resouces are all the "channels" that were created in the CSDM. You can drag and drop Global resources to Assigned resources and they will appear on the console. You can select which tab you want them to appear on at the top of the Assigned pane. You can mix and match them any way you please, except you cannot have duplicate Assigned resources on the same tab. In other words, you couldn't have two "Police" resources on the same tab, but you could place the "Police" resource on all your tabs.

To change frequency names, Allow Layout Configuration=>Channels Configuration. This pops up a window with 3 tabs. The Controls tab allows you to manipulate what control options you want to have in the channel window on the console. Select a channel in the left pane and check the boxes in the right pane for the controls you want. To change frequency names, select the Aliases Tab at the top. In the left pane will be the channel names. These are the names generated in the CSDM that you cannot change in the demo. In the right pane, however, will be a list of frequencies whose names you can change. This gets a little tricky. Select one of the frequencies and wait a few seconds. Left click it again and a box will pop up where you can change the name from Frequency 'X' to what you want to name it. Double-clicking doesn't work...you must have the delay between the left clicks to make this work. Save and close everything when you're done. You can now select one of the channel windows on the desktop and scroll through the frequencies you have named.

Larry
 

n2hbx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
277
Location
Orlando, FL
#6
You get it in the software bundled with a console purchase. Not available as a separate item.

Larry
 
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
474
Location
San Angelo, TX
#8
've been able to get the CSDM. I've got it working but the CSDM uses a ".xml" file that I can locate. While the MIP5000 Demo uses a ".dmo" file that I'm not able to locate. How do I convert the file that the MIP5000 Demo uses so I can edit it in CSDM?



This thread is not related to my other post about the Consolette if anyone is wondering.
 

sfd119

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,636
#9
John...just a word of caution. I know you work in a dispatch center and you want to program these radios...but if you are asking these questions you probably shouldn't be programming for them. You don't want to be the one responsible for taking down a dispatch center.
 
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
474
Location
San Angelo, TX
#10
John...just a word of caution. I know you work in a dispatch center and you want to program these radios...but if you are asking these questions you probably shouldn't be programming for them. You don't want to be the one responsible for taking down a dispatch center.
I would agree with you, however, I have no interest in programming or messing around with the MIP 5000 in my comm center. This thread is in reference to a demo that I got about a year before starting at this comm center and is on my computer that I just want to play around with. The only thing I am interested in programming at the comm center is the Motorola XTL5000, only if I am for sure that it will not mess up the MIP5000. I have programmed several Motorola including the XTL5000, I just personally don't own the cables.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top