Mobile (Vehicle) Scanning Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlj31986

Premium Subscriber
Hello all. I'm pretty new to this and am looking for suggestions. I would like to add a mobile scanner to my vehicle. I would like to be able to scan Clarke and Oconee Counties. Clarke is on an 800 mhz trunked radio system. Oconee is currently on an older VHF system but will soon be moving to a 700 mhz area-wide system. I would like to keep it as low profile as possible. Would it be possible to use a smaller phantom antenna? Also, any suggestions on a Uniden scanner model for this application would be appreciated. Thanks for your time.

b7spectra

EMS Dispatcher
If you are going Uniden, go with either the 996XT (mobile) or 396XT (portable). As long as you are within say about 10 miles of the repeaters, you could go with a quarter wave UHF antenna and pick them both up fine. For my 396XT I connect it to a 5/8 gain 800 antenna and can still pick up the Cherokee County channels in Sandy Springs with no problem!

jlj31986

Premium Subscriber
Any ideas on the best place (best price) to buy a 996XT? I'm still so new to this, can you post a link of an example of a quarter wave UHF antenna? I want the lowest profile possible...thanks for you time and help!

N8IAA

Any ideas on the best place (best price) to buy a 996XT? I'm still so new to this, can you post a link of an example of a quarter wave UHF antenna? I want the lowest profile possible...thanks for you time and help!