MobileTech NXDN Network

DSheirer

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
452
Location
Fulton, NY
#1
It looks like MobileTech is standing up a new NXDN network alongside their existing LTR-Net network. I'd assume this would be deployed across Western, Central and Northern areas.

I found what looks like an NXDN signal on 152.9825 which was their dedicated Fleetsync GPS data channel for the Manlius site.

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?fccCallsign=WPTU791

It looks like they added the NXDN 4K00F1W emission designator to their license back in February, 2018.

Denny
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,199
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#4
I am hearing a continuous digital signal on 153.125 but DSD+ does not recognize it.
If it is NXDN48 / IDAS, you might get better results if you run DSD+ with the -fn switch -- and if you can, decrease your bandwidth to 4000 or so if you are using SDR# or FMP.

Mike
 

k2hz

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
384
Location
Rochester, NY
#5
If it is NXDN48 / IDAS, you might get better results if you run DSD+ with the -fn switch -- and if you can, decrease your bandwidth to 4000 or so if you are using SDR# or FMP.

Mike
I am using discriminator tap audio and DSD+ works perfectly with existing settings on every other NXDN 48 or 96 system I have encountered. Something else is going on with this one. DSD+ simply ignores it.
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,199
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#6
I am using discriminator tap audio and DSD+ works perfectly with existing settings on every other NXDN 48 or 96 system I have encountered. Something else is going on with this one. DSD+ simply ignores it.
Ok don't try -fn then. Just trying to help man. If it looks like a 48 sig, it could be NEXEDGE48 or IDAS. I have a much better time with IDAS if I force -fn.

Mike
 

DaveNF2G

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Messages
9,010
Location
Rensselaer, NY
#7
I use both -fn and -fN in the command line when targeting NXDN-based systems.

Mobile Tech has two VHF sites in the capital area and I am trying to watch them for NXDN signals but my home reception is pretty poor for either location. I am in Rensselaer and Poestenkill is behind terrain in one direction, Vischer Ferry is behind terrain in another direction.
 

DSheirer

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
452
Location
Fulton, NY
#8
Both 152.9825 and 153.125 are down this morning and a new NXDN signal is active on 150.92, probably at the Tully site. Maybe they're still in a build-out/testing phase.

I wonder if they're adding NXDN to support their Finger Lakes Railroad customers at Salt City by the fairgrounds and their occasional trips to the west toward Rochester. The Finger Lakes locomotives would previously broadcast their GPS position every minute via Fleetsync on the LTR-Net channels.
 

DaveNF2G

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Messages
9,010
Location
Rensselaer, NY
#9
Makes me wonder who they plan to support with the sites in the capital area.

OT: I wonder if Fleetsync over LTR is cheaper than ATCS.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
2,964
Location
Ottawa, Ont.
#11
I heard another N48 CC early this morning but did not have a chance to decode, on 153.1025 .
It is probably part of this R13 system, as I could also hear 152.3825; both currently used by Mobiletech LTR-Net,
neither known to any systems up here (mostly in West Quebec).

Dave
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
2,964
Location
Ottawa, Ont.
#12
Last edited:

GTR8000

Troublemaker
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
6,407
Location
BEE00
#13
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=10105

As it appears that the site numbers Dave is finding correspond directly with the LTR Net site numbers, I've created the system in the database.

Denny, can you please confirm that the Network ID and Site #'s for Manlius and Tully match the database?

These control channels should also be broadcasting their CH ID and RAN, so let's try to grab those as well. Neighbor lists if available also helpful. You guys know the drill by now. ;)
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
2,964
Location
Ottawa, Ont.
#14
I was not able to copy channel numbers, as the signals were sporadic and via tropo; just enough to give system/site numbers. I also suspect initially the neighbour site info is not transmitted when the site is first coming up; maybe they are not networked yet, sort of like Moto site-trunking mode? Will keep trying but at such a distance it's hit and miss. BTW these are coming in early hours of the morning, was up around 6:00-6:30 am on the weekend; signals usually fade out by 8-9am.

Dave
 

DaveNF2G

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Messages
9,010
Location
Rensselaer, NY
#15
I went mobile to scope out the Mobile Tech / Pfeiffer Group sites licensed for Vischer Ferry and Poestenkill the other day. Apparently neither site is transmitting yet.
 

k2hz

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
384
Location
Rochester, NY
#16
I have been monitoring Site 32 and the DSD+ data is not making sense to me.

The site frequencies are 153.260 & 153.1025. CHIDs are 163 & 165

NL:328-13 42 73 77 79

R13-32 Neighbor: Sites

R11392-13 CC=520
R50176-13 CC=16
R10368-13 CC=792
R328-13 CC=288

I can not find any logic in the channel designations or relate the Rxxxxx-13 Sites to the Site #s in the NL list.
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,199
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#17
I have been monitoring Site 32 and the DSD+ data is not making sense to me.

The site frequencies are 153.260 & 153.1025. CHIDs are 163 & 165

NL:328-13 42 73 77 79

R13-32 Neighbor: Sites

R11392-13 CC=520
R50176-13 CC=16
R10368-13 CC=792
R328-13 CC=288

I can not find any logic in the channel designations or relate the Rxxxxx-13 Sites to the Site #s in the NL list.
What you are seeing is corruption due to bad decoding/poor signal or interference or other bad audio parameters. As soon as I see anything that remotely looks like that I press "d" to force DSDPlus to lose any information it had grabbed on that site and start from scratch.

Sometimes that kind of thing occurs simply by navigating between control channels of different sites with different types of digital signals in quick succession. Again, pressing "d" is my resolution. If the signal is any good at all, you should be okay at that point. If it happens regularly when monitoring that site, the signal quality is poor for one reason or another.

Mike
 

k2hz

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
384
Location
Rochester, NY
#18
I have a strong, clean signal and this data has been received with no variations after repeatedly clearing old data and has been consistent for several weeks.

If it was decoding errors it would be random and not consistent. DSD+ is properly displaying the system as NEXEDGE48.
 

k2hz

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
384
Location
Rochester, NY
#19
I located Neighbor Site R13-77 on 151.850 and it appears to be WPXN330 Penfield.

I have only an idle CC so far. I will monitor for activity tomorrow to get additional data for a submission.

This site is indicating -

NL:9216-13 26 32 42 60

R11392-13 CC=784
R328-13 CC=536
R9216-13 CC=288
R99328-13 CC=776

DSD+ is not displaying any CHIDs since there has been no voice activity yet

This is all solid data being sent repeatedly so the only issue is with the meaning of what DSD+ is displaying.
 

k2hz

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
384
Location
Rochester, NY
#20
And I just found another neighbor: R13-60 Avon 150.905 It is another idle CC with no traffic at this time.

NL:11392-13 32 42 79

R13952-13 CC=536
R11392-13 CC=544
R99328-13 CC=520

I have identified some of the TGs on Bristol as former Mobiletech LTR-NET customers so it looks like this is the beginning of the replacement system.
 
Top