• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Motorola Signal Indicator?

Status
Not open for further replies.

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
172
Location
Boise, ID
#1
So I must ask, is there any legitimate reason as to why the signal strength indicator only works in trunked mode? Why is it so difficult to ask to use it in conventional?
 

n8dhw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
406
Location
Middletown, Ohio
#2
I guess Motorola didn't see a need for it since most of these radios are used on trunked radio systems


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

n8dhw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
406
Location
Middletown, Ohio
#4
Well good luck trying to make that happen. It would take a firmware update that I don't see Motorola pushing out for those radios since there support window is running out.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
172
Location
Boise, ID
#5
Well good luck trying to make that happen. It would take a firmware update that I don't see Motorola pushing out for those radios since there support window is running out.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Running out for the new APX8000 to?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

n8dhw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
406
Location
Middletown, Ohio
#6
No the APX8000 is a current production model. But the XTS5000 is EOL and support stops in either 17 or 18. If you want RSSI on conventional channels on the 8000 you need to start talking to a Motorola sales rep.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Thunderknight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
1,810
Location
Bletchley Park
#7
On my 7000 I have rssi on conventional analog channels. I use it on the NOAA WX channels as a signal test tool (comparison). I think they had it available starting with firmware 14.51 (or something like that, my radio isn't here at the moment). It was a recent addition, as it did not work in the older firmwares even though it was shown in CPS.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
326
Location
Clinton Iowa
#8
So I must ask, is there any legitimate reason as to why the signal strength indicator only works in trunked mode? Why is it so difficult to ask to use it in conventional?
They are designed with trunked or repeater ops in mind. No need for a signal meter, since you'll either Hear the signal or you won't.
 

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
172
Location
Boise, ID
#10
On my 7000 I have rssi on conventional analog channels. I use it on the NOAA WX channels as a signal test tool (comparison). I think they had it available starting with firmware 14.51 (or something like that, my radio isn't here at the moment). It was a recent addition, as it did not work in the older firmwares even though it was shown in CPS.
So you are saying the signal indicater on you apx7000 works on conventional analog? That'd be cool cause I want to get an apx7000 for ham use.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,010
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
#12
Not exactly. There is no antenna signal strength bars indicator for conv analog like on the XPR line. But my APX6000 does have a RSSI indicator at the bottom of the screen. Set to a local repeater, it is now displaying RSSI 32.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
6,838
Location
BEE00
#15
Conventional RSSI was added in APX HOST ver 14.51, which is at least two releases back, and works on ALL APX radios.
If by "all" you mean only APX portables with a front display, then sure.

Conventional RSSI does not work on portables with top-only display, or mobiles, or consolettes.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
6,838
Location
BEE00
#17
Well then it will not work on the ubiquitous O5 head. Either way, certainly not "all" radios.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,736
Location
Central Ontario
#20
Conventional RSSI does not work on portables with top-only display, or mobiles, or consolettes.
Conventional RSSI works fine on my APX7500 mobile and since consolettes are basically APX mobiles, I don't see why it wouldn't work on them either.

I think the only radios that won't display RSSI are the top display portables.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top