• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCDx36HP: Mototrbo systems in database eventually?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HogDriver

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
836
Location
Oklahoma City
#1
I'm hoping that as more DMR systems are logged, those that are Mototrbo will be entered into RadioReference as trucked systems with LCN's and TG's. I'm not having any luck figuring these things out on some local systems. I'm trying to figure out the Mid-Del Schools CAP system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

dave3825

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
2,451
Location
New York
#2
I'm hoping that as more DMR systems are logged, those that are Mototrbo will be entered into RadioReference as trucked systems with LCN's and TG's. I'm not having any luck figuring these things out on some local systems. I'm trying to figure out the Mid-Del Schools CAP system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Can you post a link to the system?
 

HogDriver

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
836
Location
Oklahoma City
#3
The three freqs are 154.4975, which is the assumed control channel, as that's the one that constantly comes on with no audio, 159.8475, and 159.600. I don't know. Maybe I have the wrong one selected. The license is WQKZ744. Take a look and see if you can figure it out. I've been going looney trying to figure what freqs do what based on their locations throughout the city.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

WX4JCW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
2,319
Location
All Over USA
#4
Its always going to be difficult with the scanner to figure the systems out on a normal scanner without software assistance, DSDplus is really the way to go and can be set up for as little as $30.00
 

HogDriver

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
836
Location
Oklahoma City
#5
After looking at the FCC license data, 159.8475 is listed as FX1, so I have changed my programming with this as LCN 1 and 154.4975 as LCN 2. We'll see how this works!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
5,943
Location
Dallas, TX
#6
After looking at the FCC license data, 159.8475 is listed as FX1, so I have changed my programming with this as LCN 1 and 154.4975 as LCN 2. We'll see how this works!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
That's not correct. Location code FX1 is a control station, generally on the input side of the system. See FCC Station Class Codes - The RadioReference Wiki

The FCC license listed is WQKZ744 (MID DEL SCHOOLS ISD 52) FCC Callsign Details

There are two repeaters (FB2) listed, 154.4975 and 151.565. Each is listed twice, because the school district is licensed for both analog & MotoTRBO on each one (emissions codes 7K60FXE and 7K60FXE).

I would program each frequency separately as a One Frequency Trunked system. Since the two frequencies are licensed for separate locations, it's more likely that they are used independently of each other, not in a two-channel trunked system (LCN1 & LCN2). You could also put them in a conventional system, and see how the scanner displays them (DMR, CAP, CON, etc).
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,238
Location
Texas
#7
Looking at the FB2's, you'd need an FB8 for the control channel of either Con+ or CapMax (Tier 3). If I were a betting man…which I am occasionally…*I'd suggest looking for either a 4 slot Capacity Plus (pseudo trunking) or two conventional repeaters. You'll notice the system cycling through time slots on a system activity basis if it's Cap+ (Repeater 1, TS1…Repeater 1, TS2…Repeater 2, TS1…Repeater 2, TS2) as a talk path is needed.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
5,943
Location
Dallas, TX
#8
Looking at the FB2's, you'd need an FB8 for the control channel of either Con+ or CapMax (Tier 3). If I were a betting man…which I am occasionally…*I'd suggest looking for either a 4 slot Capacity Plus (pseudo trunking) or two conventional repeaters. You'll notice the system cycling through time slots on a system activity basis if it's Cap+ (Repeater 1, TS1…Repeater 1, TS2…Repeater 2, TS1…Repeater 2, TS2) as a talk path is needed.
I suspect that two "stand-alone" repeaters is the most likely. Besides. if you were setting up a 'full' trunked system, why would have two sites, each with a single, different, frequency?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,238
Location
Texas
#9
I suspect that two "stand-alone" repeaters is the most likely. Besides. if you were setting up a 'full' trunked system, why would have two sites, each with a single, different, frequency?
You see it occasionally. Saves costs on receive/multi-couplers. If coverage overlaps that is (I haven't looked at the location details). I actually know of a Motorola shop running a Capacity Plus system in a similar arrangement. The two sites are separated by 3 miles but the terrain in the area is so flat the actual coverage difference is negligible.

Though it's becoming more common to see a single channel pseudo-trunk in use these days. Allows for better management of the resources but pseudo-trunking is not covered in the DMR standards and as a result no one's play's nicely with one another.
 

HogDriver

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
836
Location
Oklahoma City
#11
That's not correct. Location code FX1 is a control station, generally on the input side of the system. See FCC Station Class Codes - The RadioReference Wiki

The FCC license listed is WQKZ744 (MID DEL SCHOOLS ISD 52) FCC Callsign Details

There are two repeaters (FB2) listed, 154.4975 and 151.565. Each is listed twice, because the school district is licensed for both analog & MotoTRBO on each one (emissions codes 7K60FXE and 7K60FXE).

I would program each frequency separately as a One Frequency Trunked system. Since the two frequencies are licensed for separate locations, it's more likely that they are used independently of each other, not in a two-channel trunked system (LCN1 & LCN2). You could also put them in a conventional system, and see how the scanner displays them (DMR, CAP, CON, etc).


154.4975 displays as alternating DMR and CAP.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top