• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

MT2000 - how take out of scan mode ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,358
Location
Midlothian, VA
If it's like the other Jedi radios (which I'm certain it is), scan on/off can be programmed to several different buttons depending on how it was setup. Or are you asking how to change scan settings in RSS?
 

thassler

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
132
Location
Tennessee
When our MT2000's were in use, the scan on/off was usually programmed to the toggle switch on top of the radio.
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,081
The RSS enables one to program "slaved scan" for any personality. If that feature is turned on, then scan is forced whenever that personality is "selected" and it cannot be turned off.

Jedi radio function depends entirely upon the programming of the codeplug in the radio. As a general matter, you won't get usable answers to questions like these unless the person you are asking reads the radio and analyzes the codeplug.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
4,302
Location
Ohio
The RSS enables one to program "slaved scan" for any personality. If that feature is turned on, then scan is forced whenever that personality is "selected" and it cannot be turned off.

Jedi radio function depends entirely upon the programming of the codeplug in the radio. As a general matter, you won't get usable answers to questions like these unless the person you are asking reads the radio and analyzes the codeplug.
Well put.
 

Jay911

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,133
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Nothing to do with RSS, but thanks. I will have to call the programmer I guess.
Yes, it does. Functions like turning on/off scan on your type of radio are configured in the RSS and can be set to almost any button or switch, and the only way to know for sure is to read it into RSS (or CPS) and determine from there.

I normally use the concentric switch beneath the volume knob for scan on/off, because I don't need secure/clear. Others use the A/B/C switch. Others may use front keypad buttons or side buttons (I don't know if the Jedi can do it the same as the Waris (HT750/1250) as I've never tried it, but I've seen a Waris set up with one of the side buttons configured to toggle scan).
 

Devilz311

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
38
Location
NJ
Like you said, call the person who programmed your radio if you don't have the software. If not, I'm sure you can figure it out eventually...

I've seen Jedi's with the any of the buttons set to scan. One of the popular configurations i've seen was assigned to the 3-way switch:
A- Scan
B- Blank
C- Scan list program - green button used to select scan members.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top