• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

MTS2000 Programming help

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtisdale656

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Summerville, SC
#1
Hi, Can a Motorola MTS2000 (H01UCF6PW1BN) be programmed on a 800MHz SmartZone Trunking System to receive only? I have Motorola CPS software for MTS radios. I am kinda new to Motorola programming and only really messed with Kenwood programming so any help would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
192
Location
Mississauga Ontario
#2
Hi, Can a Motorola MTS2000 (H01UCF6PW1BN) be programmed on a 800MHz SmartZone Trunking System to receive only? I have Motorola CPS software for MTS radios. I am kinda new to Motorola programming and only really messed with Kenwood programming so any help would be appreciated.


What is the flash code


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

jtisdale656

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Summerville, SC
#5
ok thank you. I've been trying to just set it up in general but I keep getting a error on the talk groups. I add a talk group and it turns red and won't accept it in the radio trunking configuration.
 

jtisdale656

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Summerville, SC
#6
ok thank you. I've been trying to just set it up in general but I keep getting a error on the talk groups. I add a talk group and it turns red and won't accept it in the radio trunking configuration.


I've had no problems setting the conventional frequencies and trunking control channels but the talk groups is always coming in red as a error.... (if that helps). I've seen 1,000 videos about programming conventional just nothing about programming trunking.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

lacoscannerguy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
79
#7
I've had no problems setting the conventional frequencies and trunking control channels but the talk groups is always coming in red as a error.... (if that helps). I've seen 1,000 videos about programming conventional just nothing about programming trunking.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I can't say for sure, but my guess is that is related to the lack of a system key. To program trunking systems, you need a key that allows you to do this; even if it's for monitoring purposes only.
 

jtisdale656

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Summerville, SC
#9
I set up the system key through DOSBox. Everything is programming correctly except any talk group I try to add. It's on SmartZone type 2 throughout the entire configuration.

N4KVE- I'm not sure how to set it as Smart Net. I don't see a setting change for that from SmartZone.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

jtisdale656

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
6
Location
Summerville, SC
#10
As long as it shows the #1 under talk group in the talk group section of the Trunking Personality 1 of 1. Once you add a talk group it turns red and shows "Trunking Personality Talkgroup in Trunking Personality-1, member 1"


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top