My modest beginner's shack

Status
Not open for further replies.

GKLdiy88

Since I am fairly new to ham radio this is both my first AND current shack set-up
Ham shack_20220319.jpg
Now it is not set up at the moment in actual use mode, but I have a Yaesu FT-60R, also got an extra battery for it, as well as the battery holder to be able to use Alkaline AA batteries as a back up if needed. I also recently got a Tram-1185 magnetic antenna and cookie sheet to increase the HT's ability as a base station at home, and occasionally I might use it in the car also. (ALSO: on the right side is my C Crane CC Skywave shortwave receiver.)

Now there are no repeaters listed as being located within the county limits of the county we live in, but even before I got the magnetic antenna I had picked up conversations between hams where at least one of them seemed to be in another state, so I am assuming I was picking up a repeater from outside our county limits. I'll have to see if I can identify that repeater and program it into my HT to see if it is within reach to transmit to or if I can only receive from it.

Now I realize it is a modest beginning and I am very okay with that, being retired and having a limited budget for hobby stuff I have learned to be content with and enjoy what I can get at the moment and be patient until I can later take a step up to a somewhat more powerful system like a mobile unit like as used in cars but some also use them in their homes as a base station. (In recent months I spent most of the hobby money I had saved up :rolleyes: and need to wait a while :D)

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
That's a good start. That'll get you 90% of what you need right there.

Some repeaters are linked into systems, so hearing someone from out of state isn't out of the ordinary.

If you post what city/state you are in, someone might be able to help you find a local repeater. Most of the online repeater guides are not the most accurate sources of info.

GKLdiy88