• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

My New Baofeng UV-B5 can not bring up repeaters needing PL 162.2 (anyone else?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
22
#1
Hello,

I just bought a Baofeng UV-B5 (same as a UV-B6 except for the flashlight) and I am having a problem with it. I can bring up all the repeaters I have tried EXCEPT for the two local repeaters that use PL tone 162.2 on their input. My other HT's (different models) can bring up both local repeaters fine with one watt. I know there is an issue with these radios when using receive Tone Squelch of 118.8, but I can not find any mention of this issue I am having. I do like the radio a lot, so I would like to get a replacement radio unless it turns out that they all have this issue.

Anyone else know about this problem, or have a repeater using 162.2 that they can try?

Thanks,
Lorrin
KG5JOA
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
22
#4
>> Did you try just TONE only?

Yes, I am just transmitting the tone, and I am not keying the repeater at all (I would also see the "S" meter move if the repeater was responding).
The radio works fine with all repeaters that need to hear tones of 100 hertz and below, but not with repeaters that need 162.2 hertz. I have tried 3 local repeaters that use this tone and all work with my other radios, but not this UV-B5...
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,182
Location
So Cali
#5
You would have to test the radio on a service monitor to see what tone it is actually transmitting. Maybe a scanner with a tone readout could be used.

I have seen Baofeng's with distorted transmit that the repeater could not decode. Heck, even Motorola and others with bad low frequency compensation calibration.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
22
#6
Found a fix!

I tried disabling the "save" function (battery save) and the tone problems vanished! Evidently the firmware has a an issue issuing some tones correctly when the processor is powered off and on for power saving.

Thanks for your advice.

Lorrin
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
8,884
Location
PA
#8
I tried disabling the "save" function (battery save) and the tone problems vanished! Evidently the firmware has a an issue issuing some tones correctly when the processor is powered off and on for power saving.
What version?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
22
#9
RE: What version?

Just bought it, and it only has 27 menu items...


I don't know how to get the firmware version from it.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
22
#11
RE: What version?

I can read and write to the radio using Chirp and the Baofeng factory software, but I can not see how to get the firmware version. The "Developer Settings" in Chirp where other radios list the info don't seem to show it, and I can't find the info on the web either. Do you have a way to find the version?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
22
#14
Neither of the suggested methods works on my radio or Chirp...(screenshot attached)

>>To find out your firmware # just hold down the "3" key when turning it on. Keep the key pressed and it will display it on the screen.

My radio comes up normally when I do the above. I also tried holding down several other keys in that area while powering the radio on, and it just comes up normally.

===========

>>Open .img file.
>>Select SETTINGS from left menu bar
>>Select OTHER SETTINGS from center menu bar
>>Firmware message one and two will tell you the version.
>>
>>You may have to enable DEVELOPER FUNCTIONS in the HELP menu first, though.

I am running the latest Chirp version (11/23/2016), and I have enabled the "Developer Functions" but I do not see "Other Settings" as a choice. I do have "Settings->Test Mode Settings", but they show only the custom settings for Squelch and VHF Power levels, etc. I have examined the information shown, and can not seem to find anything that looks like a firmware level. It is almost like they no longer have the information available intentionally.
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top