• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

narrowbanding

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
5
#1
I have been programming vertex standards for some time but I have never asked this question. Looking in the software how do I make sure my radios (that are capable of course) are using 12.5 step. For example I mostly work with the 4200/820 software. Any guidance would help. Thanks.

I have been under the assumption when I change it from W5/W4/N this was my result. I have learned everything on my own with no professional help.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
5
#2
Never mind I have answered my own question. However my new question is this. I cannot hear my communications dept on N however I can on W4. Does this mean they arent completely narrow?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
368
Location
Indiana
#3
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; SCH-I535 Build/JZO54K) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Yes that is the correct setting for vertex with 5k/4k and 2.5k spacing being the options.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
5
#4
Thanks evfd I replied to my own post already lol but bc ive never posted before it waits for admin approval. I was just curious I cannot hear my comm center at 2.5 but I can at 4. Does this mean they arent narrow banded All the way yet?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
368
Location
Indiana
#5
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; SCH-I535 Build/JZO54K) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

It could be. I know there was an issue with some Vertex radios having receive problems with the narrow filters.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
1,103
#6
It could be. I know there was an issue with some Vertex radios having receive problems with the narrow filters.
I stumbled into a minor issue yesterday with a VHF VX-2200. I couldn't get it to hit a close by repeater in narrow mode, but it would hit it in w4/w5 mode. I am guessing the repeater hasn't been narrowbanded yet. However, just about every other model/brand of radio I deal with (dozens) can hit that repeater in narrow mode. So I had to roll back the clock on my laptop and blast that one channel in there as wideband.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top