Need Help Deciding: BC125AT or SDS100

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC1THE

Hello, this is my first post here. I appreciate everyone's expertise on the forums (I have been reading a lot lately) and would appreciate some help in deciding on which scanner to purchase for my area. I am a recently licensed tech but not an active ham as of yet.

I am in the Central Massachusetts area (Leominster) and it appears most of the channels I listen to (predominantly Police/Fire/Repeaters/some Rail) are conventional analog FM or FMN:

I was thinking of purchasing a BC125AT, however, I would also like to listen to Massachusetts State Police but they are on a P25 Trunked System - and there are some other services on P25 I may like to explore - so this may help me make my decision: Right now, either the BC125AT or SDS100*. I am open to other suggestions as well.

I understand the BC125AT just does conventional and not trunked systems. I am also a visual person and feel maybe the SDS100 would give me more in terms of screen information/feedback on what I am listneing to - even though most of my listening (probably 80-95%) will be done on analog/conventional frequencies as those are dominant in my area currently.

I am currently using a Baofeng UV-5R and Chirp as a poor-man's scanner to program my local conventional agencies, but it is lacking in the lower VHF frequencies so I am missing out on some activities and of course, no banks. I am amazed though that it picks up fire and police from towns 30-40+ miles from my location with clarity.

I also have Yaesu FT-60 programmed similarly with RT Systems software and as my main HT and go-to radio once I feel comfortable transmitting.

And, I have an old Regency HX-1500 scanner that still runs ok, but does not pick up anything. Not sure why. It worked well back in the 90's when I moved to this area.