Need help with frequencies for Rankin County Fire...

Status
Not open for further replies.

langfordj9

Hello all,
I am new to the site, and extremely new to radios in general. I'm a Volunteer Firefighter in Rankin County, and would like a cheap solution to my radio-lacking problem. However, I've got to know it can be programmed to the frequencies I will need. I know I will need general EOC Fire Dispatch, along with TAC 1, 2, 3, 4, etc. But what else do I need to function? I found this:
Rankin County, Mississippi (MS) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference
from your lovely site, and it is very informative; however, being the total radio newb I am, I need some coaching. It looks like I will need the 154.01000 freq, in addition to others. So, my basic questions are this:
- What would be a wallet-friendly handheld radio for my desired frequencies?
- What are these frequencies I would need?

Any advice or coaching on the subject, even a point in the right direction, would be much appreciated. Thank you all for your time and consideration.

bama9999

As far as a good radio for what you need, it sounds like a Radio Shack Pro-164 should work fine, since everything you want to listen to is analog and not digital. Rankin county uses a trunked radio system, and the Pro-164 is a trunk-tracking handheld. I would recommend, if you get the scanner, to also get the programming cable and one of the software programs, either Win97 or PSREdit300 to program the radio, and a premium subscription to Radio Reference, and you can download the programming from this site into the program, then upload it into the scanner.

MississippiPI

Premium Subscriber
Rankin County

My suggestion is if you are a volunteer with Rankin County take your scanner to the radio ship and have them provide you with the TG's and all and program them into your scanner; or why not just scan the frequencies with your 800 MHz radio?

Be safe,

Jimmy

langfordj9

Thank you both very much for the replies.