• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Need help with Win97 & a Pro-164

Status
Not open for further replies.

W2SJW

Senior Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
3,152
Location
Northwest NJ
Guys,

I'm trying to program a 164 for a friend of mine, and doing a UHF Moto-II system is driving me nuts! I can't get the scanner to stop on the system at all! :mad:

I've got the system loaded into Win97 just like I did for my friend John's Pro-97, and I set the 'Misc' setting to use the PSR-300's table setting. I have the correct 3 base/offset data entries in the custom table, and they do show up in the scanner when manually checked.

What confuses me most is that Win97 has no choice to 'use' the custom tables - there is only the choice in the software & the scanner for 'normal' or 'splinter' 800 MHz. system operation.

Can anyone help me out here?

Thanks in advance!
 

W2SJW

Senior Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
3,152
Location
Northwest NJ
Also, here is the file (if anyone might be able to see what is wrong).

The system in question is in Bank #2
 
Last edited:

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
W2SJW said:
Also, here is the file (if anyone might be able to see what is wrong).

The system in question is in Bank #2
On the settings/weather tab looks like you only got 0 bank enabled, enable up to #4.
 

DonS

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,105
Location
Franktown, CO
W2SJW said:
Guys,

I'm trying to program a 164 for a friend of mine, and doing a UHF Moto-II system is driving me nuts! I can't get the scanner to stop on the system at all! :mad:

I've got the system loaded into Win97 just like I did for my friend John's Pro-97, and I set the 'Misc' setting to use the PSR-300's table setting. I have the correct 3 base/offset data entries in the custom table, and they do show up in the scanner when manually checked.

What confuses me most is that Win97 has no choice to 'use' the custom tables - there is only the choice in the software & the scanner for 'normal' or 'splinter' 800 MHz. system operation.
There's no option to "use" the custom tables because they're required for VHF and UHF systems - the radio always uses them.

I've heard of a problem in the PRO-164/PSR-300 with calculating some UHF voice frequencies (i.e. right around 500 MHz). I believe GRE is working on it.
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
DonS said:
There's no option to "use" the custom tables because they're required for VHF and UHF systems - the radio always uses them.

I've heard of a problem in the PRO-164/PSR-300 with calculating some UHF voice frequencies (i.e. right around 500 MHz). I believe GRE is working on it.
That's why is great to have people like you here on rr, you not only write, support great software, your involved in helping users to solve problems, good job all around!
 

W2SJW

Senior Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
3,152
Location
Northwest NJ
Thanks for the quick reply, guys.

It still dosen't help the situation, though! :mad::confused::(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top