• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

new 996xt scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wilhelm1234

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
85
Just purchased new 996xt. I understand that I can program Motorola smart zone 2 by entering control freq. only and if so should I enter all control freqs.? My data shows 3 or 4.Is this the way to go? Sounds too good to be true.
 

kirk23

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
525
Location
Pierrefonds (West Island Montreal) Qc Canada
Just purchased new 996xt. I understand that I can program Motorola smart zone 2 by entering control freq. only and if so should I enter all control freqs.? My data shows 3 or 4.Is this the way to go? Sounds too good to be true.
Yup all you need are the CONTROL CHANNELS the primary and the alternates.so in the radio reference date vase the RED & BLUE FREQS. No voice channels
 

Wilhelm1234

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
85
OK thanks then I will only have to turn off the sub/talk groups I Dont want....correct?
 

Wilhelm1234

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
85
OK I'll try that there are probably a total of 50 agencies I'll have to block but its probably the best way to go I'm tired of messing with software
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
4,557
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
You don't have to "block" agencies, just program the ones you want and as stated use "ID Scan" (closed mode in GRE/RS speak since you are coming from a Pro-163).
 

Wilhelm1234

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
85
OK Kevin really appreciate the help.Didn't realize the degree of learning curve on this.Scanner should arrive in a few days.I'll advise how it went
 

kirk23

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
525
Location
Pierrefonds (West Island Montreal) Qc Canada
When you import the file from radio reference just click on the groups that you want you dont have to import everything. Especially if you come across a system that has shows more groups than the limit of 20. Which is the limit I believe for freescan to import at 1 time
 

Wilhelm1234

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
85
Stow Ohio I want summit county 800 system (stow, peninsula(PPD)and Boston heights.I managed to enter the right groups in my 163 if the software is similar I shouldn't have any problem
 

Wilhelm1234

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
85
You've armed me with plenty of info......hopefully it will be enough......thanks again, Willy
 

kirk23

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
525
Location
Pierrefonds (West Island Montreal) Qc Canada
Lol..
Use freescan its free you are just asked for a donation. . It works great..
All you will need is a RS232 serial adapter to connect to the supplied cable that will come with your scanner..unless you ordered the UNIDEN USB-1 cable at the time you bought your scanner. The RS232 arw inexpensive..you can find them at computer stores for $7-10
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top