New - Need Help w/ Pro 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

robmoon

Hi! I am completely new to scanners and radios, although I've always wanted to get involved, and I need some help. I've been trying all day to program this radio. Every time I think I'm inches from the finish, I mess up. I need step by step directions on how to program it. The whole trunking thing confuses me and I don't understand what anything means. Any help would be appreciated.

I live in Clinton County, OH and want to program it for as much stuff there as I can (well, not everything, but I'm sure you can catch my drift.. police, fire/ems, maybe the city transit). I mostly want to use this to listen to the police, though.

Also, could anyone point me in the direction of where to start reading or what to do to learn more about scanners, radios, etc.? I got this one from my grandpa, and it was programmed, but I decided to be Mr. Big Shot and try and redo it myself without any know-how.

I'd also like to try and program it to listen to the Taco Bell or McDonald's drive-thru just to make sure I can do it.. it sounds like it'd be fun to get it there and then listen for a few minutes. I found a website with the code for Taco Bell and ever since it sounded like fun. (Wilmington, Ohio Scanner Frequencies)

Any help would be greatly appreciated, guys. Thanks in advance. If this is too much to ask, I understand.

One of the hardest parts for me to understand is what mode to use, when to use DEC or that other thing for trunking.. pretty much everything confuses me. I'm brand new at this, I just got this scanner this morning.

robmoon

Also, whenever I'm on any channel on FM I get a lot of static, but talk comes through sometimes when I'm on the right channel.

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
I had one of the early 92s and had to send it back to RS for a firmware update. If you have problems with it you may have to do this.