• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

New offering - RadioFeed 1.0

Status
Not open for further replies.

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#1
I just released RadioFeed. It's a no cost solution.

Available at http://www.proscan.org on the right side of the page.

RadioFeed is a combination Source Client and Web Server.
The Source Client streams to RadioReference, IceCast, and ShoutCast servers. The Web Server serves a web page and audio.

There's not a help file or Wiki yet but it will be coming. Basically there are three steps for streaming.
1) Set up the metadata. Optional.
2) Setup the audio
3) Setup the Source Client or Web Server.

I believe RadioFeed is perfect and rock solid. You be the judge.
I will be doing GRE text tag support next and then a Wiki setup and quick start guide.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
566
Location
Edmonton, AB
#2
Looks interesting. I'll download it and give it a try with our feed.
/edit - Program installed and broadcasting. It was very easy to configure and get up and running. I really like the interface. Looks like an outstanding program.

I will let it run for the next few days and then report back. Thank you for making this available to the community.

Jeff
 
Last edited:

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
#3
When you say "streams to RadioReference, IceCast, and ShoutCast servers" does that mean it can send to them at the same time, or you mean "pick one"?
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,621
Location
Southeastern Michigan
#4
Looks interesting. It will be more interesting to me, once GRE models are supported. :)

I noticed that there is a left and right audio, will you support having separate radios connected? (For instance, you could have L hooked up to your trunking scanner, and R hooked up to your conventional scanner.)
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,253
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#5
Looks interesting. It will be more interesting to me, once GRE models are supported. :)

I noticed that there is a left and right audio, will you support having separate radios connected? (For instance, you could have L hooked up to your trunking scanner, and R hooked up to your conventional scanner.)
That depends on how you have things wired. If you have the left channel wired to one scanner, the right channel wired to another scanner, have those fed into a stereo y-adapter / audio cable combo and terminated with a stereo jack plugged into your soundcard, then you can use both channels. It isn't a function of the program but rather is dependent upon how you wire things up.

Mike
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#6
Looks interesting. I'll download it and give it a try with our feed.
/edit - Program installed and broadcasting. It was very easy to configure and get up and running. I really like the interface. Looks like an outstanding program.

I will let it run for the next few days and then report back. Thank you for making this available to the community.

Jeff
Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you found it easy to setup as that is a major objective during the design.
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,253
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#7
Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you found it easy to setup as that is a major objective during the design.
It's definitely a no-brainer. Very nice interface. I stream a couple feeds to RR and am happy with what I'm using now, but I'll probably give yours a try. Based upon the ease of setup, I'm thinking it's going to be very popular.

Thanks for making that available for free!

Mike
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#8
When you say "streams to RadioReference, IceCast, and ShoutCast servers" does that mean it can send to them at the same time, or you mean "pick one"?
Each instance of RadioFeed can only stream to one or the other but the good news is you can stream to multiple servers at the same time by running multiple instances of RadioFeed.

Running Multiple Instances.
1) Copy the RadioFeed folder to a new folder.
2) Change the options.
3) Run RadioFeed.
 
Last edited:

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,621
Location
Southeastern Michigan
#10
I guess I should have clarified: Adding the ability to support text tags from the differing sources. I realize this could add a fair bit to the size of the program, but could be beneficial to monitoring. (Only need one copy of the program running, one playback running, and still being able to follow multiple systems.)
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#11
Looks interesting. It will be more interesting to me, once GRE models are supported. :)

I noticed that there is a left and right audio, will you support having separate radios connected? (For instance, you could have L hooked up to your trunking scanner, and R hooked up to your conventional scanner.)
RadioFeed is very versatile. You can use separate inputs and stream mono or stereo. It's not recommended streaming to the public as the audio at the media player will be combined so if like two people talking at the same time.

If you are streaming to your self at a remote location and you know there are two channels, you can use the L-R balance control on the media player to switch left or right channel.

Ideally using the left and right sliders if running two instances of RadioFeed, one instance left slider up and the right slider down. Set the other instance opposite slider positions.
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#13
I guess I should have clarified: Adding the ability to support text tags from the differing sources. I realize this could add a fair bit to the size of the program, but could be beneficial to monitoring. (Only need one copy of the program running, one playback running, and still being able to follow multiple systems.)
Streaming to the same or seperate servers?

This is interesting. I'm giving this deep thought. I could see it being beneficial running the Source Client and Web Server from the same instance but that's about it. Using audio from the left and right inputs to the same server is not recommended and I think the metadata would experience the same problem except worse. At the moment I'm not leaning either direction.

The size of the program is not an issue as I always look at things from a user perspective.
 

ScanYak

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
90
Location
Central Washington State
#14
In attempting to install RadioFeed 1.0 I see it requires .NET Framework 4.0.
I have .NET Framework 2.0 running your ProScan on a t5710 ThinClient. Have you designed it to require the 4.0 version to install and run RadioFeed?
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#16
In attempting to install RadioFeed 1.0 I see it requires .NET Framework 4.0.
I have .NET Framework 2.0 running your ProScan on a t5710 ThinClient. Have you designed it to require the 4.0 version to install and run RadioFeed?
Yes it's by design that it targets the .net 4.0 framework. The next version of ProScan will also target 4.0. Are we dealing with a memory limitation where only one of the framework has room?

EDIT: Now that I thought about this, I should of targeted the .net 2.0 framework. Next release 1.1 Tuesday night will target the 2.0 net framework.
EDIT AGAIN: Next version of ProScan will continue to target .net 2.0.
 
Last edited:

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#17
In attempting to install RadioFeed 1.0 I see it requires .NET Framework 4.0.
I have .NET Framework 2.0 running your ProScan on a t5710 ThinClient. Have you designed it to require the 4.0 version to install and run RadioFeed?
I just uploaded RadioFeed 1.1 to my site. The only change is now RadioFeed targets the Microsoft NET 2.0 Framework insted of 4.0.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
#18
I just uploaded RadioFeed 1.1 to my site. The only change is now RadioFeed targets the Microsoft NET 2.0 Framework insted of 4.0.
Being a .NET programmer myself, what was the reason for targeting .NET 2.0 instead of having people upgrade?
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Ontario, Calif.
#19
Being a .NET programmer myself, what was the reason for targeting .NET 2.0 instead of having people upgrade?
My program doesn't care if using 2.0 or 4.0. RadioFeed is not using anything that's new in 4.0. I decided to target the 2.0 net framework for two reasons.
1) 4.0 doesn't work on Win 98 and 2.0 does. 2) ProScan in the past targeted 2.0 so if anyone using ProScan and now want's to use RadioFeed. They dont have to wait for 4.0 to be installed if they don't have 4.0.
 

richtidd

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,124
Location
San Mateo, Ca
#20
My program doesn't care if using 2.0 or 4.0. RadioFeed is not using anything that's new in 4.0. I decided to target the 2.0 net framework for two reasons.
1) 4.0 doesn't work on Win 98 and 2.0 does. 2) ProScan in the past targeted 2.0 so if anyone using ProScan and now want's to use RadioFeed. They dont have to wait for 4.0 to be installed if they don't have 4.0.
Also .net 2.0 fits in limited flash HD space like on a Thin Client.

Thanks for the changes as this will make the program usefull to more feed owners who want to use it this way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top