New RI scanner user

Status
Not open for further replies.

HannaMary

Hi,

I live in Little Compton and recently purchased a Home Patrol 1 scanner to listen to local police and fire calls. I'm new to this...but I figured out how to create a favorite's list searching for Little Compton under the RISCON list in the database and it's been up and running fine for two weeks until today. Haven't had a squawk or call all day long...and as quiet as this town is...there is always roll call at least twice a day. The scanner appears to be scanning and I can receive NOAA weather. I did a firmware and database update through the Sentinal software and still no luck. Not sure what the problem is... and no...I don't have it on mute nor is the volume turned down. Can someone recommend a reliable way to test it?

Thanks,
Hanna

frankie811

Hi,

I live in Little Compton and recently purchased a Home Patrol 1 scanner to listen to local police and fire calls. I'm new to this...but I figured out how to create a favorite's list searching for Little Compton under the RISCON list in the database and it's been up and running fine for two weeks until today. Haven't had a squawk or call all day long...and as quiet as this town is...there is always roll call at least twice a day. The scanner appears to be scanning and I can receive NOAA weather. I did a firmware and database update through the Sentinal software and still no luck. Not sure what the problem is... and no...I don't have it on mute nor is the volume turned down. Can someone recommend a reliable way to test it?

Thanks,
Hanna

How 'bout Tiverton or Portsmouth? Fall River? Did you input the old VHF/UHF frequencies or the RISCON frequencies & talk groups?

Last edited:

HannaMary

Thanks for your help and advice. Don't know what the problem was....but things seem to be up and running again. Just happen to live in a very quiet town.

HannaMary