New scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

turn619

Hello,

I recently decided to purchase a scanner and am trying to decide which one to get and which one I'll get the most enjoyment out of. Right now I'm considering the Uniden Digital Mobile Scanner with 25,000 Channels and GPS Support (BCD996XT) or the RadioShack® PRO-197 39,000-Channel Digital Desktop Scanner. Since I'm a newbie, I wanted to ask if anyhone in the forum would give me info on these models concerning ease of set up and make me feel more confident that I won't waste my money.

From the reviews I've read, it seems that the Uniden model is great but can be difficult to program. Can anyone offer their stories or learning experiences that might help me decide? Are there any helpful websites, youtube videos that would assist me with programming this model? THe other model I've been looking at is the Radio Shack one bc I know that if I get frustrated, I could always turn to them for help programming the unit. Any help would be greatly appreciated. For background I'm probably above average with technical stuff and want to consider this a hobby so I don't expect to get it all in 5 minutes...

SCPD

QRT
Uniden BCD-996XT Vs. Radio Shack PRO-197

Hi---Your best off buying the Uniden BCD-996XT and you also can see it on uTube. Yes, it is harder to hand program then the other but quality is way better! If you have any questions, please pm me.

73's

Sparky19053

Premium Subscriber
I’m not new to using a scanner, but I’m a new purchaser of a bct996xt and while I’m sure I have a lot to learn I found FreeScan software very easy to use with a premium membership to this site.
I think it’s a great radio and very happy with my choice. BTW, I purchased from Scannermaster, they shipped that business day and I have received the following day.

wtp

well...

when rs came out with their pro92, i went to 3 stores and no one knew anything about trunking or the radio
they gave me a freq list and said bye then