• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCD536HP: New Sd Card

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackcloud08

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
90
Location
NC
#1
Hi guys, I'm trying to make 2 back up cards for my 536 and everytime I try to get the new cards ready it shows the following:
F: Uniden Unknown ( ESN: XXXXXXXXXXX)

I've tried clearing the user data on the new cards and then writing to them from the profile I saved last night from the working card in the 536.

I never had this problem with my 436.

Any suggestions?
 

blackcloud08

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
90
Location
NC
#4
After I clear the user data and it writes to the scanner I can pull up the card on my computer and it show Uniden x36hp with all the files listed firmware, alert, discovery etc... The esn when I look at it on sentinel shows ESN: ( XXXXXXXXXXXX)
I'm going crazy trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong.

I've formatted it with fat32 and named it
Erased User Data
Updated Firmware
Wrote to Scanner
and i'm getting the same ill effects every time.
 

escortz28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
166
Location
Powell, Ohio
#5
You're ok. The ESN will be written by the scanner to the memory card once you've actually inserted the memory card in the scanner and cycled power.
 

blackcloud08

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
90
Location
NC
#6
You're ok. The ESN will be written by the scanner to the memory card once you've actually inserted the memory card in the scanner and cycled power.
That's what I thought but it keeps saying " SD Card Access Error" but i'll do it all again just to say I did.

So the 536 accepted one card but not the other, same process was done on both cards.
 
Last edited:

srpawski

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
167
#7
I didn't have any issues last week when I put in a 32 gig card in my 436. I did have the same xxxxxx reading for ESN, however, I let Sentinel format it and I was able to load the full database to it along with my favorites list. Once I disconnected it from the software after the write to it, and reconnected it, the ESN showed the scanner's number and not xxxxxx.
 

blackcloud08

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2016
Messages
90
Location
NC
#8
I didn't have any issues last week when I put in a 32 gig card in my 436. I did have the same xxxxxx reading for ESN, however, I let Sentinel format it and I was able to load the full database to it along with my favorites list. Once I disconnected it from the software after the write to it, and reconnected it, the ESN showed the scanner's number and not xxxxxx.
Mine only showed up after I put it into the scanner. Idk what the deal is. It took multiple attempts of doing the same thing for it to finally accept it so idk... Just one of those things I guess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top