New to the BCD996XT (HELP!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

VE5MDH

Premium Subscriber
I purchased my BCD996XT from eBay about a month back. A work in progress is getting my TV tower up so I can attach a few antennas on it. So, for the meantime, I will be working with the supplied indoor antenna. No problem there (for the time being).

Today, I received in via CanadaPost my USB-1 cable which worked flawlessly, yet another item purchased from eBay.

I am a Radio Amateur, VE5MDH in DO60kx. Soon to re-activate my Radio Gear.

OK, onto the BCD996XT Issues.

I have not yet preformed the Firmware Update on the receiver. No problems, once again here.

I was able to figure out how to erase and download from this website via a Premium Subscription, a nice portion of frequencies for Saskatchewan.

Now it Scans what I downloaded today, and even with an indoor antenna, living in the middle of no where ville, I am able to hear distant chatter on a few CB channels, WX freqs. And thats about it for now (have yet to scann everything I downloaded today.

Now here is a simple problem that I am experiencing.

As there is some chatter in the distance (3/4 readability), the unit allows me to listen in for 5 seconds, then it seems to try to scan, even though I have manually reduced the squelch to 0/0. This goes silent for 5 seconds, and the process is repeated over and over again.

I have used the Hold feature, figuring it would eliminate this radio silence, but it has not,

Are you understanding just what I am encountering, and is there a simple method to eliminate the radio silence, so I could listen to a completed conversation?

I have not set any Quick Keys yet, nor anything else. I just downloaded various frequencies, and uploaded them to the receiver. Kinda like a K.I.S.S., but this may seem to not be the best way to do this.