newbie car/mobile scanner setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

ed5480

Hey guys, Im pretty new to this hobby and just getting started so a have a few questions, mostly related to setting up a mobile system in my car. Ive had a Uniden BCD396T for a few years now and have really only listened to my town, recently ive been adding more and more frequencies and started carrying the scanner in my car. My question is what is a good antenna to use for the car, and what external speaker is loud enough and small enough to mount somewhere under the dash on the drivers side. I found a thread here on radio reference that talked about this speaker:
Electronics, Computers, Digital Cameras, Games, Mounts, Video, Audio : Uniden ESP20 20-Watt External CB Speaker [T46136] - $10.95
and people said it was a good speaker but the thread was a year old and I wanted to get some new opinions. I also found this antenna
SpectrumForce Wideband Antenna with Mag Mount and SMA
Im not looking for a crazy mobile setup just enough to get better reception while driving and make the scanner easier to listen to, aka louder.
Most of the time im listening to law enforcement, EMS and fire channels. Another question i have is about the different types of frequencies, for example high band, low band, VHF, UHF, what exactly do these mean and how can i better understand them? i do understand how to program my scanner based on the freqs listed in the database here, for example trunked systems, conventional systems, EDACS systems, ect.
Thanks!

ed5480