Newbie!

Metertech424

Hello guys, I’m new to the scanning hobby. Not to knowledgeable on the chart on how to chose the right scanner for my area. I live in North Carolina and Wake County. My zip is 27592 . I wanna listen to all that’s available I guess. Fire, ems, etc. Any help would be appreciated!! I like the sds 100 scanner but you guys input would help me tremendously! Thank you!

RaleighGuy

Premium Subscriber
I would strongly recommend the SDS100 or 200 for you, I live in Wake County and the county system is simulcast, so depending on your location you may have moderate to heavy simulcast distortion, however the SDS scanners are the only scanners designed for simulcast environment and can handle it fine.

I will mention, Fuquay PD is encrypted and you will not hear them (as are several others in the area - Cary, Apex, Morrisville, Rolesville, Zebulon and at least one other), but Wake County, Raleigh (except OPS & TAC channels) and all of fire and EMS are in the clear. You will also be able to hear VIPER, the statewide system, most of which is in the clear.

Let us know if you have other questions, and welcome to the hobby.

Metertech424

Thank you very much Raleigh Guy for the help! I was also considering the whistler ws 1040 as a price point. What would be the difference between the two (sds100). But I can swing the sds 100 if need be also. Thanks!

Also Raleigh Guy I live in the country near Willow Spring. I picked up the whistler 1010 just to get started but will return it and purchase the sds 100 or whistler 1040. Thanks!

KJ4LZM

I would strongly recommend the SDS100 or 200 for you, I live in Wake County and the county system is simulcast, so depending on your location you may have moderate to heavy simulcast distortion, however the SDS scanners are the only scanners designed for simulcast environment and can handle it fine.