Newton County Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Canefanjon72

Premium Subscriber
Hey all, I’m a newbie with scanners and need some information if possible. Recently I’ve become very interested in radio and Ham radio specifics. I’m currently living in Newton MS Newton County. Unfortunately I don’t have a large rig but do have a baofeng uv5r. I work as a dispatcher and know the frequency for the city but am unable to get this programmed into my radio. I do the usual steps with entering in the freq. and have in memory. But what I don’t understand is the two numbers given. I know I’m supposed to know this as a radio operator and I’m sure I learned this Offshore when working on rigs, but to the life of me I’m at a loss. Can anyone help? Not interested in broadcasting as I don’t have a license yet ( except my marine radio license for GMDSS) but would surely like to hear what goes on when I’m off work at times.
Thanks in advance.

INDY72

Monitoring since 1982, using radios since 1991.
Premium Subscriber
Firstly, we need to know what city in Newton County your wanting to hear. Secondly, Sheriff, and city of Newton now are on the MSWIN and you can NOT do that on an Baofeng radio. https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=1447 To monitor that, you need a REAL scanner that can do 700 MHz, and is P25 Phase II capable, such as the Uniden BCD436HP, BCD536HP, SDS100, BCD325P2, BCD996P2, or Whistler TRX-100, TRX-200, TRX-1, TRX-2, WS1098 etc.... The other municipalities you would need to know the tone in use to properly program them into your Baofeng HT. We have not had anyone do any submissions with the current tones in use so your out of luck there. Also, it is highly likely that they all are transitioning to use of the MSWIN since County and Newton already are on it.