• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

No Digital on Pro 18

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Hello,
I have a brand new Pro 18 Digital iScan. I can hear analog transmissions but can't hear Digital(P25). I can see the digital channel on the scanner but can't hear anything.

Is there some setting that I'm missing?
 

kd7ckq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
190
Location
No. AZ
It's most likely a Encrytped Transmission. Does it show [E] at the top during the transmission?
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Hi,
I don't think it's encrypted. The digital here is mostly unencrypted and the scanner doesn't get any digital at all.
 

kd7ckq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
190
Location
No. AZ
Where is here? What system? Also, under ADVANCED FEATURES. Set the first tab under Encryted Digital Audio Settings to AUDIO TONE.
Now when ever you get a Encrypted Transmission, you will hear a busy dial tone.
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
I'm in Nova Scotia Canada. The system is the Aliant Trunked Mobile Repeater system and is Motorola Type 2. I have the audio tone turned on. I have older scanners that can pick up digital fine.

I should mention that the firmware and DSP has to be updated for this scanner; its out of date. But I don't know if that impacts the digital issue.
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
I'm using the PSR 800 application to program the scanner so I guess that's as issue too. Is there a workaround for this? I'm in Canada so the Pro 18 app doesn't support Canada.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top