• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

No signal from PSR-500

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
307
Location
Dover, NH
#1
I guess I don't have good luck with mobile scanners, but I had just bought yesterday the PSR-500, I updated the firmware and did a quick program and it worked great for a while. Then I noticed that throughout the day I barely heard any transmissions, and I only heard the city police when I was in the center of town.

Even know when I'm at home, I hook up an external antenna and I can't even hear the weather broadcasts. The only time I can make the scanner pick up a signal is if I tune to a Ham frequency and transmit on my HT/Base, which is right next to the scanner.

I've tried reverting back to the older firmware revisions, as well as the factory revision, with no luck. I've erased all memory and loaded the same config that worked before, but no luck.

I know this is really vague, but do any of you have any insight as to what the problem might be? As I said before I just got this and it hasn't been dropped or anything at all, so I find it hard to believe that the antenna connection may be faulty, but it is possible.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2006
Messages
251
Location
Long Island, NY
#2
Try The Attenuator

Maybe you inadvertantly set the Global Attenuator to "on". While scanning see if "G" is lit up on the screen. If it is, then the attenuator is set on for all frequencies, and you will not hear as much. Press FUNC then ATT to turn it off.
 

mikey60

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3,507
Location
Oakland County Michigan
#3
emslt245 said:
Maybe you inadvertantly set the Global Attenuator to "on". While scanning see if "G" is lit up on the screen. If it is, then the attenuator is set on for all frequencies, and you will not hear as much. Press FUNC then ATT to turn it off.
Note that both the "G" and the "A" must be on for the radio to be in global attenuation. The "G" by itself only means that the radio is set to global attenuation mode, but it not actually being attenuated unless the "A" is there as well.

Mike
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
307
Location
Dover, NH
#4
No, there is no G or A there. I reset it back to defaults as well and don't hear anything when the G is on.

I'm thinking it's a faulty unit, since if I can't hear the weather broadcasts then something is wrong.
 

wwhitby

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
1,036
Location
Autauga County, Alabama
#5
geoff5093 said:
No, there is no G or A there. I reset it back to defaults as well and don't hear anything when the G is on.

I'm thinking it's a faulty unit, since if I can't hear the weather broadcasts then something is wrong.
I had the same problem, and couldn't even pick up the NWS. Mine was caused by the infamous loose screw. I tightened it, and the reception came back.

Warren
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
307
Location
Dover, NH
#6
I brought it back to HRO and they gave me a store credit (which I already used up, haha), hopefully they will just send it back to GRE and they will fix it up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top