• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCDx36HP: Not working again

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#1
I bought my BCD436HP a year ago, after 5 months it stop working and i ship it to US for repair. The notes was that they replace transistor Q2 and Q3. Now It happen again. I am a month after the warranty time.
I don't live in USA.

Anyone can advise me what to do?
Thanks!!
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,045
#2
I have found that they are not black and white on warranty dates a few weeks has never been an issue in my dealings with them. My suggestion is try emailing them and see if they can issue a return authorization number to speed up the process. If you still have the original repair info make a copy of it and send it with the unit. I would not expect a problem doing it this way.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#3
I have found that they are not black and white on warranty dates a few weeks has never been an issue in my dealings with them. My suggestion is try emailing them and see if they can issue a return authorization number to speed up the process. If you still have the original repair info make a copy of it and send it with the unit. I would not expect a problem doing it this way.


Thank you
I will try it..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#4
Well it is black and white...

Here is uniden replay:

"......Dear Valued Uniden Customer,

Unfortunately, that would have to be sent in for repair and since you are no longer covered under warranty the repair cost for the BCD396XT would be $79.95 +$10 for U.S. or +$15 for Canadian shipping and handling.

Thank you for contacting Uniden!
Mariah
Uniden Tech Support...."
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#5
I bought my BCD436HP a year ago, after 5 months it stop working and i ship it to US for repair. The notes was that they replace transistor Q2 and Q3. Now It happen again. I am a month after the warranty time.
I don't live in USA.

Anyone can advise me what to do?
Thanks!!
Well it is black and white...

Here is uniden replay:

"......Dear Valued Uniden Customer,

Unfortunately, that would have to be sent in for repair and since you are no longer covered under warranty the repair cost for the BCD396XT would be $79.95 +$10 for U.S. or +$15 for Canadian shipping and handling.

Thank you for contacting Uniden!
Mariah
Uniden Tech Support...."
Hmmm...more to the story than we are being told?
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#7
I am less than a month after the warranty time


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yes but for which radio? You first said you had a 436HP then the email above references a 396XT. 2 entirely different radios.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
#8
Note that Q2/Q3 on the BCD436HP are two components that are going to blow if the scanner is subjected to too much RF (i.e. keying up a transceiver in close proximity).
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#9
Note that Q2/Q3 on the BCD436HP are two components that are going to blow if the scanner is subjected to too much RF (i.e. keying up a transceiver in close proximity).


Thank you for your replay.

Can you please comment to the less than a month warranty issue?
I am using uniden scanners for years and I will be happy for much more understanding.
Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
306
Location
Schwenksville, PA
#10
Note that Q2/Q3 on the BCD436HP are two components that are going to blow if the scanner is subjected to too much RF (i.e. keying up a transceiver in close proximity).
*gulp*

I'm guilty of keying up an HT ham radio within a few feet of my 436... any cut-off to how much wattage is safe within the same room? The most I ever put out was maybe 5 watts.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,390
Location
San Diego, CA
#11
How about starting with answering the question that UPMAN didn't ask, but hinted to.

Are you using this scanner within close range of a transceiver?
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#12
Well it is black and white...

Here is uniden replay:

"......Dear Valued Uniden Customer,

Unfortunately, that would have to be sent in for repair and since you are no longer covered under warranty the repair cost for the BCD396XT would be $79.95 +$10 for U.S. or +$15 for Canadian shipping and handling.

Thank you for contacting Uniden!
Mariah
Uniden Tech Support...."
Once again I point out the obvious in the OPs second post.
Are we dealing with a 436 or a 396XT?
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#13
yes but for which radio? You first said you had a 436HP then the email above references a 396XT. 2 entirely different radios.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk


Hi
My radio is BCD436HP
In Uniden support site you should choose the model but somehow there is no bcd436hp so I chose similar.

So again my radio is BCD436HP


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#14
Note that Q2/Q3 on the BCD436HP are two components that are going to blow if the scanner is subjected to too much RF (i.e. keying up a transceiver in close proximity).


Dear sir
I am not so good in electronics. But I do like the BCD436HP .
I don't do any unusual things with my scanner



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#15
Note that Q2/Q3 on the BCD436HP are two components that are going to blow if the scanner is subjected to too much RF (i.e. keying up a transceiver in close proximity).

Dear sir
I am not so good in electronics. But I do like the BCD436HP .
I don't do any unusual things with my scanner .




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#16
How about starting with answering the question that UPMAN didn't ask, but hinted to.

Are you using this scanner within close range of a transceiver?


Yes sure, I don't do any unusual things with my scanner. My BCD436HP is in my study room and I have computers and monitors in the room.
I don't have transceivers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
81
Location
IL
#17
Note that Q2/Q3 on the BCD436HP are two components that are going to blow if the scanner is subjected to too much RF (i.e. keying up a transceiver in close proximity).


Hi Sir
Please advise Is that acceptable to get electronic schema to do the repair in my country?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
8,884
Location
PA
#19
I'm guilty of keying up an HT ham radio within a few feet of my 436... any cut-off to how much wattage is safe within the same room? The most I ever put out was maybe 5 watts.
A 5-watt HT isn't going to hurt anything unless the antennas are directly connected (metal-to-metal contact). But you should avoid keying up a mobile radio when the scanner antenna is only a few feet from the mobile antenna.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top