• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

ProScan: Official Software Thread

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,076
Location
Ontario, Calif.
I noticed that the latest update. Build 6. When you read your files from the scanner when complete it opens up every single system/dept/sites/unit IDs drop downs

Very annoying.
Build 6? Is that version 14.6? Do you mean the tree nodes are expanding? I don't see that here. No changes in that area in a long time.
 

GTR8000

Troublemaker
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
6,583
Location
BEE00
I noticed that the latest update. Build 6. When you read your files from the scanner when complete it opens up every single system/dept/sites/unit IDs drop downs

Very annoying.
Whatever the latest build is yes. I just updated to it yesterday.

When I downloaded the files from the radio to the program. Yes it opened up every single tree nodes for the files.
I've only ever had it expand the topmost level Favorites node upon opening the Favorites Editor or reading from the scanner. I have never seen it automatically expand any level below that (System, Site, Department).

Are you certain that you're accurately describing what you believe is happening?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
2,253
Location
The Ottawa Valley - Eastern Ontario
I've only ever had it expand the topmost level Favorites node upon opening the Favorites Editor or reading from the scanner. I have never seen it automatically expand any level below that (System, Site, Department).

Are you certain that you're accurately describing what you believe is happening?
I'll try it again later when I'm back in the room with the computer but that's what happened when I used it the last time.

When I did it the last time I even closed it all down and started it back up and started over and it did the same thing that time as well.

Btw this is in ARC536 pro that I'm talking about. Did I misread this thread? Oopsie.

However it does this as well in proscan too but now that ya mention it in proscan I believe it's from the top level only that it happens too.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,638
Location
Central Ontario
Does that on mine too. I have to hit "Collapse Nodes" to get things back to a usable state and then expand what I want. I searched for an option that would control that behaviour but I couldn't find anything.
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,076
Location
Ontario, Calif.
I'll try it again later when I'm back in the room with the computer but that's what happened when I used it the last time.

When I did it the last time I even closed it all down and started it back up and started over and it did the same thing that time as well.

Btw this is in ARC536 pro that I'm talking about. Did I misread this thread? Oopsie.

However it does this as well in proscan too but now that ya mention it in proscan I believe it's from the top level only that it happens too.
I'll check tonight but I believe it's all of them: BC996P2, BCD536HP, SDS100, SDS200.
This may sound odd but reboot the computer and see what happens.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,638
Location
Central Ontario
This may sound odd but reboot the computer and see what happens.
I think I misread the original post. Reading any of my scanners always results in the Favorites lists being expanded. The Systems and everything under them do not expand which I suspect is normal behaviour. My bad.

Any chance an option to keep the Favorites lists collapsed when a file is opened or a scanner is read could be added? I usually click on Collapse Tree so it's not too big of a deal.
 

ProScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
3,076
Location
Ontario, Calif.
Here's a file for anyone that wants to test the SDS200 Favorites FTP Read & FTP Write feature.

This is the executable only. Unzip and copy the exe file over the original ver 14.6 exe file. Unload ProScan before doing so.

http://proscan.org/ProScan.zip This file is the same as ver 14.6 except FTP added. It's still called 14.6.

Using the FTP Scanner Read function requires the scanner FTP Read Only account enabled. Same with the FTP Scanner Write function, it needs the scanner FTP Write Only account enabled.

Any feedback appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Top