OP25 Fine Tuning Required Reminder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carter911

OP25 Double Success:

A big Thank You to the OP25 Developers! Nice Job!

I have a little experience with 8-bit microcontrollers, but I am a total novice to RPi’s and Linux.

I have an RTL-SDR V3 up and running on an RPi V3B+.

It was, for me at least, a steep learning curve for both learning the new OS and getting OP25 up and running. It now works very well for monitoring an 800 trunk tracking system on a very busy system, where the Talk Group’s literally just stream by continuously.

It will occasionally miss a transmission when compared side-by-side to my Fire/EMS Kenwood HT, but that is the nature of a trunked 800 system.

I then purchased a second RPi 3 B+ and “cheaper” RTL-SDR V3, (It looks the same, but it was from a different web site, perhaps a clone?), and it totally failed. Interestingly, it worked for ADSB receiving, and works for commercial FM radio stations, but not for the 800 MHz system.

I then purchased a third RTL-SDR V3 and went through my notes and found it would receive the 800 MHz trucked Talk Groups for a while, and then it would stop receiving them. “For a while” could be 10 minutes, or perhaps an hour or two. It would then work again, instantly, when restarted. (And was, therefore, not a thermal detuning problem.)

I spent days, on and off, over several months, trying to figure out why one system worked perfectly, and the other would only receive for a short while before stopping.

Bottom Line: The tutorial sites that I visited, and the “Op25 documentation, April, 2017” pdf, never mentioned the FINE TUNING, -d, option/argument, or explained it.

Many sites said: OK, now adjust the -q parameter, perhaps over a range of -10 to + 10, until the system works…

Yesterday, reading some forum posts, I learned about the -d fine tuning, performed after the -q option to tune until one is seeing the NAC and TGs listed.