OP25 OP25 on Raspberry pi3b Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

rumfordsa

Premium Subscriber
Ok, can someone help my dumba**? I recently purchased a raspberry pi b3 from Target with the hopes of running op25 with rdl-sdr. I'm completely new to Linux.
I need a step by step instruction guide that a preschooler couldn't screw up.

Last edited:

boatbod

Do you have an RTL dongle to deliver a slice of RF spectrum to the op25 software yet?
If not, your first job is to look online, find and order a "RTL" sdr device with RTL820T2 tuner and TXCO *temp compensated crystal oscillator". You should find one for about $25-$35 or so, with brands such as RTL-SDR and NOOELEC considered among the better hardware vendors. Watch out for the cheaper devices that are not temperature compensated - they suffer from excessive frequency "drift" which makes setting up and using them problematic.

dave3825

Premium Subscriber
I just picked up a pi 3 b+ and did the exact install Boatbod posted and its working good. I had no sound and it seems I needed to add 2> stderr-stream0.2 to the end of the command line. Did not have to do that on my laptop or my Intel Nuc. But its playing nice.

sallen07

Premium Subscriber
I just picked up a pi 3 b+ and did the exact install Boatbod posted and its working good. I had no sound and it seems I needed to add 2> stderr-stream0.2 to the end of the command line. Did not have to do that on my laptop or my Intel Nuc. But its playing nice.

Can you share the complete command line you are using? Thanks!

squirrel

Premium Subscriber
had no sound and it seems I needed to add 2> stderr-stream0.2 to the end of the command line.

That just enables logging output to a file and should not have any affect on the sound output. There was bug boatbod fixed recently that OP25 went silent after 1 transmission so I would recommend doing a git pull to make sure you are on the latest.

dave3825

Premium Subscriber