• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Optocom

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagmouse7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
205
Location
NC, USA
Any Optocom users out there?
Mine is still going strong, and Scan Star's support is really rock solid these days.
Just looking for other fans of the radio and their comments!
 

shortwaving

Member
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
0
I Used To...

Own an Optocom.

Really, really miss it.

If another crosses my path, or either of you guys decide to take the leap, keep me in mind.
 

morfis

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
889
They are like rocking horse **** in the UK.
The OS535's are also uncommon here and it's rare to see either for sale "second-hand".
Everyone I know who use them here is unlikely to sell which is a measure of how well they are thought of.
 

K4NRG

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2004
Messages
0
Anybody had a problem with the volume control flaking out on their Optocom? Mine will not vary. I've resorted to running the audio into an outboard amp that I can use to control volume. I'd love to get it fixed but have no clue where to send it....
 

Audiodave1

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
1,701
Location
Chadds Ford, PA
Hey folks,
I still have 2 running strong on Scanstar. I'm using an old Dell Optiplex400 that has 2 built in Com ports.

No issues here. I primarily use them for conventional UHF and Trunked UHF montioring.

(I also have a 456 in a 2005)

Dave
 

K4NRG

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2004
Messages
0
Thanks DaveIN! I completely forgot about the utility disk. Been using it with ScanStar for so long...I wouldn't trade this receiver for anything...Well, maybe an IC R9000 :p
 

poltergeisty

Deep Thinker
Joined
May 7, 2004
Messages
3,809
Location
RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV
morfis said:
They are like rocking horse **** in the UK.
The OS535's are also uncommon here and it's rare to see either for sale "second-hand".
Everyone I know who use them here is unlikely to sell which is a measure of how well they are thought of.

I own two 2042s with os535s.

Yes, I wont be giving those up any time soon.

It is hard to find them on Ebay.
 

morfis

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
889
K4NRG said:
Thanks DaveIN! I completely forgot about the utility disk. Been using it with ScanStar for so long...I wouldn't trade this receiver for anything...Well, maybe an IC R9000 :p
Going away from the topic but I wouldn't swap for an IC-R9000....maybe an IC-R8500 though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top