• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

PHX PD

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZDon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2014
Messages
171
#1
Finally upgraded to a HP 2, finding conflicting site data for PPD. Correct me if I am wrong, PPD is not on Simul B, they are only using Thompson Peak and G West correct?
 

cellphone

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
1,490
Location
Ahwatukee, AZ (Phoenix)
#2
Program Simulcast A for PPD. They were only on B for a short time during maintenance on Simulcast A.

You can hear 200 on Thompson peak, 800 on Simulcast G, and 400 on Simulcast C. If you can receive simulcast A, all PPD channels are there.
 

AZDon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2014
Messages
171
#3
Simul A

Thank you, begs the question, how come Uniden does not have Simul A in their data base?
 

cellphone

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
1,490
Location
Ahwatukee, AZ (Phoenix)
#5
Thank you, begs the question, how come Uniden does not have Simul A in their data base?


You need to do DB update if you are running an older version. Simulcast A was changed to 700mhz freqs and only came online about a month ago.



On your HP2, hit menu, Advanced Option, Down arrow, Version Information. If Database Version is older than a month, it is time to connect it to a computer and update.



The great thing about this radio, is that when systems change, it just needs to be plugged in and updated. You will probably have issues with MCSO too, as they are rebanding their current radio system, and the will be building a new radio system in the near future.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
83
Location
In the Winnie
#8
This brings up an interesting question that I've been wondering about, I've used a PSR500 for the last few years but it finally got traded up for a BC536HP so I can monitor Phase 2 and DMR (very cool BTW).

So the question is, how do you tie a site to a list of talk-groups? Given that Fire is on 1 simulcast and Police is on another and West Valley is on their own, short of setting up individual systems for each cluster, is there a way to setup 1 system and marry the talk-groups to the sites they belong on?

I've been using Sentinel to program the radio which seems to work for me, maybe not as intuitive as Win500 but I'm figuring it out.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
3,652
Location
Peoria, AZ.
#9
Phoenix FD K- and L-decks can be found on all of the simulcasts except A.
K-2 is also carried on Thompson Peak and at least sometimes White Tanks.
I prefer to keep things seperated, personally. It makes it easier to focus my listening to specific agencies better.

John
Peoria
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top