Picking the right dummy load

Status
Not open for further replies.

DanDXdare

Hello there,

My question is not amateur radio specific but I couldn't find an exact sub forum for my question. I hope it fits in here anyway. (Suggestions?)
English is not my primary language, sorry about any English "drifting" of my part.

I'm very new to the RF world so (one of) my first task is to get to know what the signals looks like, how they vary under different circumstances etc... Besides general equipment the first piece of hardware I must get is a dummy load and there's where I'm stuck now.

I need a dummy load suitable for VHF and UHF bands. After researching about dummy loads I found this great document about the subject: http://www.birdrf.com/~/media/Bird/Files/PDF/Resources/app-notes/Dummy-Loads-and-Smart-Choices.ashx

I have the opportunity to buy this used dummy load in my city: http://www.emc-rflabs.com/Rflabs/me...rminations/Flange/1001025.pdf?ext=.pdf?v=9047

This dummy load specs states:

"1.1.3 FREQUENCY RANGE: DC - 2.0 GHZ.
1.1.4 VSWR: DC - 1.0 GHZ, 1.10 MAX.
1.0 - 2.0 GHZ, 1.25 MAX."

I'm confused about what "DC" means on this spec. It means "Any frequency" - 2.0 GHZ? I hope so because it will be acceptable VSWR for VHF/UHF in this case.
After all.... this is a good dummy load for VHF/UHF ?

Any input is appreciated!
Many thanks,
Rodrigo

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
This dummy load specs states:

"1.1.3 FREQUENCY RANGE: DC - 2.0 GHZ.
1.1.4 VSWR: DC - 1.0 GHZ, 1.10 MAX.
1.0 - 2.0 GHZ, 1.25 MAX."
Frequency range is 0 Hz to 2.0 GHz.
The VSWR that the dummy load will present to the transmitter will be no greater than 1.10:1 from 0 Hz to 1.0 GHz and no greater than 1.25:1 from 1.0 to 2.0 GHz. Ideally, a dummy load would present a pure 50 ohm resistive load (VSWR 1.0:1) to the transmitter, but that isn't always the case.

When it comes to dummy loads, also make sure it will handle the RF power that you plan to apply to it.