Picking up AO-51

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
I have been trying to pick up some satellites ... without success. I would like to get some assistance on what I need to do ? I am trying to pick up AO-51 satellite on 435.3000 MHz. I hope that this is the correct frequency. I got it from amsat.org. I am using a PSR500 scanner as this is all I have that will pick up that frequency. I have a 2m handheld as well but it doesn't do 70 cm. So .. I am not hearing anything at all. What would you recommend that I do in order to pick up AO-51 ? Is there a better satellite that I should be trying to work. Maybe the ISS ? I am also looking for some good satellite tracking program that is freeware and will show me passes for the ISS and any other amateur capable satellite. I am a newbie as far as this is concerned, so any help would be appreciated.

NO_GUY

Finish off, what type of antenna are you using?? Are you using dopler shifting??? Do you have a preamp??

Sorry to ask so many questions, but to be able to help you, we need more info..

SCPD

QRT
I am not using dopler shifting ... even when the satellite is near (what I would think of as directly overhead or over the horizon) I don't hear anything at all. I am just using a diamond VHF/UHF antenna on the scanner. As far as antenna I am thinking about getting a Arrow 2 vhf/uhf satellite antenna. The only thing ... with that antenna do I need to get the one with the duplexer ?

WB2UZR

Kevin:

Check out the AMSAT web site AMSAT - The Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation it has lots of info on amateur satellites. Take a look at the operating schedule for AO51, they switch modes and frequencies sometime, as well as downlink power levels. You should be able to hear it with an HT outside, make sure you open the squelch all the way, as well as orient the antenna toward the satellite as it passes over. It's a bit tricky to co-ordinate everything, as you can imagine!