"police radio mobile application" in Indiana legislation

Status
Not open for further replies.

kevin.r

Premium Subscriber
Greetings,

I thought the scanner community might want to be aware of some draft Indiana legislation related to scanner apps. See 2019 Indiana Senate Bill 240: Terrorism link below:

Senate Bill 240 - Terrorism

I'm not a lawyer and I don't play one on the Internet, so I'm not going to attempt to summarize the bill because I'd probably get something wrong. If you are interested in knowing details, the full bill text is located at the above link. It's lengthy, but you can start by searching for "police radio mobile application" in the full text search.

bill4long

To quote the digest:

Defines "police radio mobile application" as an application installed on a mobile device that allows a person to listen to the contents of traffic carried on police radio frequencies. Provides that a person who possesses or uses a police radio mobile application: (1) while committing a crime; (2) to further the commission of a crime; or (3) to avoid detection by a law enforcement agency; commits unlawful use of a police radio, a Class B misdemeanor.

ten13

Premium Subscriber
Defines "police radio mobile application" as an application installed on a mobile device that allows a person to listen to the contents of traffic carried on police radio frequencies. Provides that a person who possesses or uses a police radio mobile application: (1) while committing a crime; (2) to further the commission of a crime; or (3) to avoid detection by a law enforcement agency; commits unlawful use of a police radio, a Class B misdemeanor.

The bottom line is, if you get locked up for "terrorism," or any other crime, and you have an app on your phone, you'll get charged with that too, the presumption being that you used the app to "further the commission of the crime."