• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Priority Listening SDS200

K1YFI

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 13, 2015
Messages
1
Location
Norwood Ma
#1
I keep reading and re reading the SDS200 manual (pg9 plus) and still am drawing a blank on how to create priority channels for Norfolk County , Town of Norwood MA
I created a favorites but am not sure it is anywhere.

Am I missing something simple or is technology just running past me?
 

edweirdFL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
358
Location
Daytona Beach, FL
#2
When editing the profile in Sentinel, on the Miscellaneous tab make sure to select a Priority Scan mode under General Options.

When editing the favorites list in Sentinel, make sure "Priority ID Scan" is set to on.

When editing the channels in Sentinel, make sure "P-Ch" is set to On.
 

doovenator

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
30
Location
Wenatchee, WA
#3
I was wondering about this too. From sentinel I changed one channel in my favorites list to "P-Ch" on, do I have to set the other options for the favorites list and the profile also?
 

doovenator

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
30
Location
Wenatchee, WA
#4
Nevermind, I figured it out. To others who may be curious, I did have to make the Profile change in Sentinel as mentioned under the Misc. tab, then the channel I had previously set to "P-Ch"- On began working during scans. During other broadcasts it does interrupt about every 2 seconds (which I believe to be normal) for about 1/4 to 1/2 second to check if there's traffic on the priority channel, which is distracting but not completely unbearable. You do end up missing quite a bit of other transmissions.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
5,851
Location
Dallas, TX
#5
Nevermind, I figured it out. To others who may be curious, I did have to make the Profile change in Sentinel as mentioned under the Misc. tab, then the channel I had previously set to "P-Ch"- On began working during scans. During other broadcasts it does interrupt about every 2 seconds (which I believe to be normal) for about 1/4 to 1/2 second to check if there's traffic on the priority channel, which is distracting but not completely unbearable. You do end up missing quite a bit of other transmissions.
Two seconds is the default. But, again on the Misc tab in your Sentinel Profile, you can change the interval time for Priority, in one second increments, up to every 10 seconds, lessening interruptions of other conversation. I use four seconds, which seems to be better for my agencies of interest.
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,026
Location
Louisville, KY
#6
When editing the profile in Sentinel, on the Miscellaneous tab make sure to select a Priority Scan mode under General Options.

When editing the favorites list in Sentinel, make sure "Priority ID Scan" is set to on.

When editing the channels in Sentinel, make sure "P-Ch" is set to On.
Setting up Priority "stuff" is challenging at first. Depending on whether you have a trunked system or a conventional system, the settings are different.

For Conventional, you do turn on the Priority Scan Mode in the Profile editor. That is where you can select how often the Priority channel is checked (Priority Interval Time).

For Trunked, you turn on Priority ID Scan in the System's options area. Since there is no pre-emptive scanning of trunked systems, there is no Priority Interval Time to select.

Fortunately checking the P-Ch to mark specific channels (either TGID or conventional frequencies) is the same in both trunked and conventional.
 
Top