• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

private radio freqs for scenic railway

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
59
#1
Asking for a friend,

He is the IT/ technical guy for a scenic railroad that also links to mainline railroads.
They currently use the railroad freqs for rail operations but have a few dead spots along the line, about 20 miles or so.

Currently they cant talk point to point from one station to the other and were inquiring about a repeater.

vhf repeater would most likely work and when weather is better I will assist with coverage checks using a boom truck to elevate the antenna and use a base radio and see if I can talk both ways, this will tell me if a repeater will do the job. dont want satalite receivers or any recurring monthly costs

I dont know anything about the rules for the federal railroad freqs and was wonder if there are any channel pairs that are authorized for repeater use or can they utilize a GMRS repeater if licensed.

thanks
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
473
#4
GMRS? As in General Mobile Radio Service? The service infested with illegally used bubble-pack and CC portable radios?

We're entertaining putting a railroad, that's responsible for the safety of the passengers it carries, on such a system?

I'm hoping that I misread that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
8,884
Location
PA
#6
Railroads already have an allocation of frequencies. The obvious play would be to coordinate with AAR and FCC to get coverage for the dead spot(s).
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
10,059
Location
Taxachusetts
#7
Apply for a 2nd RR Frequency and use that as the input for a Repeater
Put the Repeater up at a High Spot.

Or as others suggested, just implement a Remote RX site [Voter]
Asking for a friend,

He is the IT/ technical guy for a scenic railroad that also links to mainline railroads.
They currently use the railroad freqs for rail operations but have a few dead spots along the line, about 20 miles or so.

Currently they cant talk point to point from one station to the other and were inquiring about a repeater.

vhf repeater would most likely work and when weather is better I will assist with coverage checks using a boom truck to elevate the antenna and use a base radio and see if I can talk both ways, this will tell me if a repeater will do the job. dont want satalite receivers or any recurring monthly costs

I dont know anything about the rules for the federal railroad freqs and was wonder if there are any channel pairs that are authorized for repeater use or can they utilize a GMRS repeater if licensed.

thanks
 

RadioDitch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
1,882
Location
Nomadic
#8
A repeater in the AAR Band (railroad band) is your best option. A minor license modification and the appropriate equipment is all that is needed. There is no restrictions for using repeaters in the AAR Band, as long as you are licensed to.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
313
Location
Old Lyme ct
#11
How many watts is the current base running. what kind of antenna and elevations

A rpt will work. the only draw back is if the HT are on repeter and trying to move trains they might not be heard
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,582
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
#13
GMRS would be a bad idea for any railroad, the FRA frowns upon the use of any communications device by a RR employee while on, in or near tracks, and never mind train movement, so fines start at around 14K to the individual not the RR.
Voting receivers are good for dispatch but do nothing for unit to unit coverage. Depending where you are located going through TCI the co-ordinator for the AAR railroad frequencies you should have no problem getting a repeater frequency added to your existing license. You will need to either do some work on your own or have TCI do a plot map for coverage. The basic licensing fee will set you back about 4K, but at least you will be legal and SAFE. I would also add NXDN to both licenses and if you are thinking of TRBO do that after you get the new license.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
4,214
Location
Ohio
#14
Asking for a friend,

He is the IT/ technical guy for a scenic railroad that also links to mainline railroads.
They currently use the railroad freqs for rail operations but have a few dead spots along the line, about 20 miles or so.

Currently they cant talk point to point from one station to the other and were inquiring about a repeater.

vhf repeater would most likely work and when weather is better I will assist with coverage checks using a boom truck to elevate the antenna and use a base radio and see if I can talk both ways, this will tell me if a repeater will do the job. dont want satalite receivers or any recurring monthly costs

I dont know anything about the rules for the federal railroad freqs and was wonder if there are any channel pairs that are authorized for repeater use or can they utilize a GMRS repeater if licensed.
To add to what others have said. . .

Yes, you can license a repeater in the railroad band. Definitely stay away from GMRS or other bands; railroads have a dedicated allocation so it's best to use it.

I'd recommend using the existing frequency as the repeater output, and obtain an additional frequency to use as the repeater input. By doing so, someone transmitting on the old (single) channel can still be heard by others on the repeater.

You'll have to get the necessary hardware (repeater and duplexer, antenna, feed cable, etc) and put the repeater somewhere that gives a good line of sight view of the entire route.

When you apply for a new frequency, get one as far away from the existing frequency as you can (for example, if the existing frequency is 161.565, get a frequency below 161.000 as the repeater input. At least 500 kHz away is best, and the farther the better; duplexers aren't cheap and get awfully expensive when the frequency separation drops below 500 kHz.

However, a way to get around an expensive large duplexer is to use a smaller duplexer and separate antennas, mounted vertically as far apart as possible. Getting this right can be tricky, though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top