Pro-106/ARC500: "Do you wish to duplicate Trunk System Objects?"

Status
Not open for further replies.

McMurtry

Greetings:

Recently obtained a Pro-106, ARC500 software, and premium access to the RadioReference.com database. I'm new to object oriented programming and am taking baby steps learning both the software and the receiver hardware.

I live in Colorado Springs and most agencies I'm interested in monitoring are on State of Colorado DTRS which in the ARC500 software is identified as being "P25 AUTO."

I downloaded 700+ talkgroups. At one point ARC500 presented the message (paraphrased) "You selected more than 32 talkgroups. Do you want to duplicate the trunk system objects?" I did not understand the implications of the message and found no reference in either hardware or software documentation. Since I don't yet know what I'm doing, and am having a lot of fun doing it, I selected "yes." Since then, I've performed several more talkgroup downloads and now have 766 talkgroups. In the software under "Trunk System Objects," I have a total of four; each is for the Colorado DTRS. Objects 1 and 3 include the same number of frequencies (32). Objects 2 and 4 contain 12 and 16 frequencies respectively.

So, when I downloaded the RadioReference database for the CO DTRS and various conventional channels, did I make a logical choice selecting to duplicate Trunk System Objects? Does it matter? FWIW, I seem to be receiving a good amount of traffic, of the types of communications I would expect from various talkgroups. I ask because I want to arrive at a full understanding of competently programming the receiver.

Thanks,

Bob

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
The biggest impact of 4 duplicates of the same thing is that the scanner may take 4 or more times the amount of time to scan through the system, but this would only be the case if there were talkgroups assigned to the other 3 systems.