• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

pro 106~ wildcard lock out

Status
Not open for further replies.

nc28478

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
67
Location
nc28478
#1
pro 106~ wild card lock out

when i lockout a tgid i have or dislike

i get..........................

duplicate tgid: 33130(example)
create another? yes or no


i assume no do to lockout......but same talk group reappears later not being locked out.


can someone explain how to lock out tgids : so the do not reappear......thanks
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
53
Location
Washington County, TN
#3
I almost hate to reply to this as I've only had this scanner for 1 day so you may want to wait for an expert to confirm my response :) ...but here's my understanding of it.

If the talkgroup is already programmed in you have to lock out that specific talkgroup ID. The Wildcard ID is used for those talkgroups not programmed in already. So locking it out won't affect those already programmed, it will only lock out finding un-programmed ID's.

If you're stopped on the ID you want to lock out then press:
Pgm>Edit>Current and scroll down to L/Out & change to On.

Edit: Yeah I forgot the quick way to use lockout .. Func + Lockout. :)
 
Last edited:

nc28478

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
67
Location
nc28478
#4
Sorry to be a scanner illiterate but when I hit function and lock out - it locks out the wildcard_ not the id


My goal is to eliminate known IDs. - to find the unknown.

C'mon guys I know the professionals on here need a good challenge .....lol

Possibly my settings
Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
53
Location
Washington County, TN
#5
Sorry all .. .after re-reading this I realized I read the OPs question wrong and didn't totally answer the OPs question. See I knew I shouldn't have posted being a newbie & all! But some forums I belong to it takes a long while to get an answer so thought I'd try to be helpful. I see this forum is really busy & gives quick replies.

I'll go back to lurking now until I have more experience with the scanner and can actually read the question correctly & give an better answer. :)

Edit: I see we posted almost the same time. I know what you're asking now but being new the only way I know to lock it out is to scroll to that ID & lock it out from there. But we'll wait for the experts to answer. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
381
Location
Ohio
#7
I beleive what you need is TGRP ignore. If I'm not mistaken, setting it to yes will ignore wildcard hits on talkgroups that are already programmed into the scanner.

Press PGM

Press F3 (GLOB)

Use the arrow keys to scroll down to "TGRP Ignore" (it's down in the expert settings)

Press the left or right arrow key to set it to Yes

Press F1 (Save)

Return to scan mode
 
Last edited:

nc28478

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
67
Location
nc28478
#8
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.973 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

After reading my post (No help is bad....thanks) It came out wrong - it was meant to be a sincere thanks to all ... I just worked 12hrs -2300-1100
Lol I am still trying suggestions
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,736
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
#9
Sorry to be a scanner illiterate but when I hit function and lock out - it locks out the wildcard_ not the id


My goal is to eliminate known IDs. - to find the unknown.

C'mon guys I know the professionals on here need a good challenge .....lol

Possibly my settings
Thanks
I think you need to STOR (F3) the new ID, then FUNC Lout.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
617
#10
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8900/5.0.0.900 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

thought it was just TG/O when the wild card appears, which is just the F1 button just below the screen. Still learning too, instructions say hitting it when the TGRP appears creates a Talk Group in the system the wild card is assigned to and then locks it out of that system.
 

Astrak

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
1,560
Location
Mesa, AZ
#11
The T/G lockouts in wildcard only work while the scanner is scanning, if you are in MAN mode sitting on wildcard it will still pick up all of the traffic including those talkgroups that are locked out.
 

Blindman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Messages
52
Location
plattsburgh ny
#12
hmm, seems to me that locking out a tg that the wildcard found isnt going to work simply because you arent locking out the wildcard, only the group that it found.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
80
#13
I know I'm coming in a little late to this conversation, but I am currently having the same problem! So, the solution to this problem is to set the scanner to scan ONLY the scan bank that the wildcard is located in? Meaning disable all scan banks except the one with wildcard. Then "TGL/O" will work? That way you can lockout without listening to all the other banks? Does that make sense?
 
Last edited:

Blindman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Messages
52
Location
plattsburgh ny
#14
I know I'm coming in a little late to this conversation, but I am currently having the same problem! So, the solution to this problem is to set the scanner to scan ONLY the scan bank that the wildcard is located in? Meaning disable all scan banks except the one with wildcard. Then "TGL/O" will work? That way you can lockout without listening to all the other banks? Does that make sense?
mmm, not really I would think. In my case I just edited the offending talkgroup to NOT be in ANY scanlist, that way it doesnt scan but still shows up in the 'ns' (not scanned) list in manual mode.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top