• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

PRO-160 Problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

K7MRT

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
57
Location
Portland, OR
Have this radio monitoring local trunked systems on 2-3 different banks. Occasionally, as a talk group becomes active, then not... the scanner "sticks" on that talk group with what sounds like an open carrier. It then begins picking other talk groups on that TRS on the sticky channel? Ideas??

To clear the problem, I have to punch 'scan'....and then it works again for a bit..till the next time.

Additional info... It seems to stick on 858.2375...every time.
 
Last edited:

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,143
Location
BEE00
Is it getting hung up on the same TGID each time? Or is it just the same frequency each time? Or both? Is it only the Washington County Simulcast system/bank you're having trouble with? No trouble with the other systems you're monitoring?
 

K7MRT

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
57
Location
Portland, OR
Is it getting hung up on the same TGID each time? Or is it just the same frequency each time? Or both? Is it only the Washington County Simulcast system/bank you're having trouble with? No trouble with the other systems you're monitoring?
Not the same talkgroup...but yes, the same frequency 858.2375. It will remain on the frequency after the talkgroup is idle...then whichever talkgroup pulls on 858.2375 will broadcast. It remains on the original talkgroup id...

I have also reset the radio (per Manual instruction on Page 67) and reloaded the software...same result; still sticks on 858.2375
 
Last edited:

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Not the same talkgroup...but yes, the same frequency 858.2375. It will remain on the frequency after the talkgroup is idle...then whichever talkgroup pulls on 858.2375 will broadcast. It remains on the original talkgroup id...

I have also reset the radio (per Manual instruction on Page 67) and reloaded the software...same result; still sticks on 858.2375
is 858.2375 a Control Channel? if not, try programing in CC only mode. Also try turning status bit to ignore and Set end code to ignore. FUNC+MAN/MENU will get you into this setting. But it also can be that this frequency is a Data Channel and not needed in the TRS line up for voice.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,143
Location
BEE00
Ah, I just realized that system has been rebanded, that could be the source of your troubles. There is one new frequency that has a 0 in the fourth position after the decimal, 852.7000, which means that system will require a custom channel plan to track it properly. I suspect that what is happening is an active TG is switching to that rebanded frequency, but since the scanner doesn't know how to find it, it just hangs up on 858.2375 until there is activity on it.

Enter the custom channel plan per the attached file, that should cure your woes.
 
Last edited:

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,143
Location
BEE00
is 858.2375 a Control Channel? if not, try programing in CC only mode. Also try turning status bit to ignore and Set end code to ignore. FUNC+MAN/MENU will get you into this setting. But it also can be that this frequency is a Data Channel and not needed in the TRS line up for voice.
858.2375 is not a CC, otherwise the scanner wouldn't be hanging up on it with voice traffic as the OP indicated.

The PRO-160 is set with CC Only mode On by default, so unless the OP specifically changed that setting, it's already operating in CC Only mode.

For Motorola Type II systems, the Status Bit and End Code should both be set to Yes, not Ignore.

If the frequency was a dedicated data frequency, then it would not be included in the TRS plan, in which case CC Only mode would never switch the scanner to that frequency in the first place. Motorola systems operate by switching to the FCC channel # as indicated by the CC, not the specific frequency itself. No frequency information is ever passed through the CC.
 

K7MRT

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
57
Location
Portland, OR
I found the End Tone was set to Ignore... I changed it to Yes and it took care of the problem. Thanks for your attention!! I appreciate it.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,143
Location
BEE00
Glad that worked, however you really still need to enter that custom channel plan I attached in the PDF, otherwise the scanner will likely not track TG's properly as they move to that one frequency, 852.7000. Keep an eye on it, if you don't see that particular frequency pop up, or you notice you might be missing some transmissions, the rebanding is the culprit and the custom channel plan is the cure.
 

K7MRT

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
57
Location
Portland, OR
Thanks. Yes I have the custom bandplan handy, I actually loaded it months ago but with the reset of the radio today, I'll need to re-enter. So far everything is working great without it, I understand they're throwing the switch on rebanding on Nov 20th in Portland, which is sort of a domino effect on the other TRS in the area with interoperability. I believe only the Clackamas TRS may need the custom band plan and perhaps the Western Washington County portion of the system.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top