• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

pro 96

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,109
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#2
Hopefully it's not a 700mz system, because the 96 cannot receive 700mz.

Otherwise, I believe the band plan for most p25 systems is included in the control channel data, unlike Motorola. I presume that is what you mean by a custom table.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,674
Location
Bowie, Md.
#3
Unfortunately, the 96 is very old technology that requires a manual entry of the values for the trunking tables in some cases.

As this question is rather poorly worded, let's get some clarification...

a. Are you looking for how to access the custom table? Using which software (ARC96 or WIN96)?

b. Are you looking for the values for the custom table? Did you look in the database? Did you look in the wiki? For precisely what system (and you should know that this has probably been discussed in the Virginia forum)?

Please be a bit more verbose about what you're looking for...Mike
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2003
Messages
25
Location
Gloucester Point. Virginia
#5
Yes I am trying to program my Pro 96 for the James City/York County P25 system. I understand that this system is at 9600 Baud. My BCD 436 is fine with this however my research for P26 custom tables Pro 96 I only find tables for 3600 systems. What am I missing? Help... Thanks
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,674
Location
Bowie, Md.
#6
Rebanding tables usually apply to non-P25 systems (altho with the 96, this could be a part of the issue, too, since it's so old...). Did you try this as a straight Motorola system?

Mike
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2003
Messages
25
Location
Gloucester Point. Virginia
#7
Yes did that, programmed 7 banks with same system P25 phase 1 APCO-25 Common Air Interface Exclusive. Used every option from basic Pro 96 down load not modified, Custom table for 3600 P25 then custom table for 9600, custom table, manual entry for 3600 and manual for 9600, and then just check the box for 800 mhz 9600 in the custom table. All banks up and running and no traffic. I get traffic on my BDC 436 but not on the Pro96. I "think" this may be a 9600 system by what I see on past posts. . I also think I tried every option. Am I missing something? Or can the old pro 96 not pull it off. Just wanted to use the old scanner at work.

Thanks for past and future help.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
435
Location
Mount Morris, Michigan
#8
Yes did that, programmed 7 banks with same system P25 phase 1 APCO-25 Common Air Interface Exclusive. Used every option from basic Pro 96 down load not modified, Custom table for 3600 P25 then custom table for 9600, custom table, manual entry for 3600 and manual for 9600, and then just check the box for 800 mhz 9600 in the custom table. All banks up and running and no traffic. I get traffic on my BDC 436 but not on the Pro96. I "think" this may be a 9600 system by what I see on past posts. . I also think I tried every option. Am I missing something? Or can the old pro 96 not pull it off. Just wanted to use the old scanner at work.

Thanks for past and future help.
SWARD,

Since that system is 800 MHz, leave both 3600 and 9600 at Normal. You only need to make tables for VHF/UHF systems, not 800/900.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
918
Location
Clinton County, MO
#9
A commonly seen entry for 800 mHz P25 systems looks something like this:

Low Channel: 0
High Channel: 4095
Offset: 0
Base Frequency: 851.00625
Step 6.25

This is just a shot in the dark......If it doesn't work, it will require watching the control channel with either Pro96Com or Unitrunker to gather the information needed to draw up a table.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top