PRO 97 Programming Trunking

Status
Not open for further replies.

ucabear09

Yes I am very new to scanning. I recently purchased a Pro 97 and am trying to program a local frequency. The primary control channels are 854.61250c 856.73750c 859.73750c. I have programmed these in and changed the mode to MO. On one of the control channels, I see the MOT: Sys-4210 95%. Every so often that line will change to MOT: and a number which I assume is the talkgroup. Why do I hear a loud buzzing noise instead of the conversations? Thanks for help, please excuse my lack of knowledge I'm still new at this.

SCPD

QRT
Yes I am very new to scanning. I recently purchased a Pro 97 and am trying to program a local frequency. The primary control channels are 854.61250c 856.73750c 859.73750c. I have programmed these in and changed the mode to MO. On one of the control channels, I see the MOT: Sys-4210 95%. Every so often that line will change to MOT: and a number which I assume is the talkgroup. Why do I hear a loud buzzing noise instead of the conversations? Thanks for help, please excuse my lack of knowledge I'm still new at this.

try putting the bank in scan( trunk) mode, got the bank & hit fctn trunk & put in MO mode

fireside

Premium Subscriber
When you use manual to get to the CC you will see that data. While in MAN. hit FUNC then ., this will change the bank to open or closed. Open hears all talkgroups, closed hears only talkgroups you have saved. Press scan and you should hear traffic while in open mode. If you hear a talkgroup you want to save, press the orange T, that will save it.

gmclam

Premium Subscriber
PRO-97 and trunking

Yes I am very new to scanning. I recently purchased a Pro 97 and am trying to program a local frequency.
Hello and welcome to RadioReference.com. In the olden days everyone simply used frequencies; we now call that "conventional". What you are trying to monitor is a "trunked radio system" (TRS).