• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

PRO106 no longer receiving

alpca3877

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
8
Two days ago, my PRO106 stopped receiving signals apparently. It powers up, it scans, and my programmed data is still there. Only thing I can think of is my antenna finally went bad. Is there something else I should consider?

IMG_0716.jpg
 

Hit_Factor

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
822
Location
Saint Joseph, MI
Why do you suspect the antenna? Which antenna?

Lightning makes an antenna go bad with the radio.

Rough use on a rubber duck antenna might break it.

Generally, antennas are not the problem in a receive only scenario.

You can test VHF weather with any 15" piece of wire touching the center conductor of you antenna jack. If you can't receive the weather, it's probably the scanner.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,776
Location
Bowie, Md.
Did the trunk system migrate to a new one? Did you have all the control channels for the system you were trunking? I would check in your state's forum and database.

Mike
 

alpca3877

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
8
Did the trunk system migrate to a new one? Did you have all the control channels for the system you were trunking? I would check in your state's forum and database.

Mike
Hi, thanks. Nothing migrated according to multiple sources.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,776
Location
Bowie, Md.
Then check your programming against the database. It's a little hard to show you where to go since we don't know your location (county/state is fine) and what trunk you're trying to hear. Make sure you have all the control channels programmed in. If the system goes to a control channel you don't have, trunking will fail.....Mike
 

alpca3877

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
8
Why do you suspect the antenna? Which antenna?

Lightning makes an antenna go bad with the radio.

Rough use on a rubber duck antenna might break it.

Generally, antennas are not the problem in a receive only scenario.

You can test VHF weather with any 15" piece of wire touching the center conductor of you antenna jack. If you can't receive the weather, it's probably the scanner.
Hi Mike -

The antenna has absorbed numerous falls over the years, though not yesterday - it's the RS 800mhz antenna that came with the scanner.

It has a WX button, which i just tried - nothing coming through. I'm now performing a search from 25.000-1300.000 to see if I can get anything. So far it's stopped on static a few times, but no voices.
 

alpca3877

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
8
Then check your programming against the database. It's a little hard to show you where to go since we don't know your location (county/state is fine) and what trunk you're trying to hear. Make sure you have all the control channels programmed in. If the system goes to a control channel you don't have, trunking will fail.....Mike
Thank you - I'll double check it.
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
6,627
Location
MACOMB, MI.

tvengr

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
336
Location
Monkton, MD
Try turning off the squelch. Does it stop on talkgroups? Try an earpiece. The contacts in the jack may be dirty and cutting off the speaker.
 

alpca3877

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
8
Try turning off the squelch. Does it stop on talkgroups? Try an earpiece. The contacts in the jack may be dirty and cutting off the speaker.
Squelch is all the way down and doesn't stop anywhere except the occasional static. If it stopped somewhere and I couldn't hear it, then I'd think speaker. Since it doesn't even stop anywhere, that's what caused me to think antenna
 

alpca3877

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
8
The internal broken antenna connection has been a common problem with that scanner.
Internal being the key word there - maybe I'll open it up and have a look. I'm certainly not an electronics expert though. Thanks!
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
6,627
Location
MACOMB, MI.
Internal being the key word there - maybe I'll open it up and have a look. I'm certainly not an electronics expert though. Thanks!
The link I gave you in Post #9 explains the entire process and shows a picture of what to look for.
 

AC9BX

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
288
Location
Lockport, IL
I agree, start fresh before opening the case. Sometimes the radio gets confused. I'd backup the programming, factory refresh, try listening to the weather.
It's not a broken antenna or connector. If that picture is your radio you have full signal.
That could be overload. Maybe something new is completely saturating the radio, it does happen.
So, it scans and never stops on anything or does it stop but you don't hear anything? Those are very different problems?
I've encountered squelch problems with the 106/197, it goes to full off (stops on everything including no signal) or full on, above normal (stops on nothing regardless of how much signal.)
If it visually seems to be working but there's no sound it can be the speaker, the headphone jack, volume control is open (it's not a very reliable component) or the amplifier.
 
Top