• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

problem with noise

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrscanner2008

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
246
Location
Quebec, Quebec Canada
Hello

For more than six months, I have a big problem with noise from a transformer at Hydro-Quebec (the power company). The test to allows me to point Hydro is that I connect my IC-7000 on a battery in my shack and close the breaker for the house and always full of interference (between S7 and S9 day and night) so it does not come from my house. I contacted Hydro and they are supposed to come and do the tests but when??

My question is pending Hydro is the problem, do you think of using Ferrite choke on my coax to help reduce the problem? And can I use Ferrite choke on my Coax Vertical HF antenna?

Thank you for your responses and suggestions!
 

WA0CBW

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,229
Location
Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
I'm not sure I got this correct. When you put the radio on battery power and you CLOSE the breaker (power to the house) you hear the noise? What you should try is to OPEN the breaker (no power to the house) and see if you still hear the noise. If you still hear the noise with the breaker OPEN that could mean the problem is with the power company. Keep in mind that there could be other things creating the noise other than the power line.

If you OPEN the breaker (no power to the house) and the noise goes away then the trouble is probably something in your house.

BB
 

mrscanner2008

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
246
Location
Quebec, Quebec Canada
What you should try is to OPEN the breaker (no power to the house) and see if you still hear the noise
I already tried that (only ic-7000 and battery) and still noise, that why I point my power company. None of my Neighborhood have Plasma TV in my knowledge. So maybe something else...

Still open to suggestion.
 

lspecht

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
34
Location
Culpeper, Va
Can you describe the noise? Can you tell me what bands it is on? Do you hear it on an AM radio in your house?
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
And a couple of other questions:
Does the noise go away when you take the coax off the back of the radio?
What is grounding like in your shack? Is the radio case grounded?
Is it possible for you to go on a walkabout with a portable HF reciever with a removable antenna?
You suspect Hydro, you may be able to pinpoint.
And look around the 'hood for birds congregating at one place on a power line. Now that the cold weather is here, that's a good indication of a high resistance connection generating heat. May be where the noise is coming from.

As far as a ferrite core, go ahead. They are not expensive. You can get a few of those ferrite clamp-on's that come with computer monitors. It's a cheap try.
 

mrscanner2008

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
246
Location
Quebec, Quebec Canada
@lspecht
Can you describe the noise? Can you tell me what bands it is on? Do you hear it on an AM radio in your house?
its hard to describe the noise but I will try to upload recording made with my IC-7000.
I hear the noise on all HF band and also on 2 Meters
yes I hear it on AM radio too.

Wyandotte check the answer in RED
And a couple of other questions:
Does the noise go away when you take the coax off the back of the radio?
The noise is still there but at little lower level (S4-S5)
What is grounding like in your shack? Is the radio case grounded?
yes the radio case is ground to cold water pipe and I also have the MFJ-931 artificial ground too.
Is it possible for you to go on a walkabout with a portable HF reciever with a removable antenna? I already tried that and when I walk far from my house, the noise goes away. The power transfo is right at my house.

You suspect Hydro, you may be able to pinpoint.
And look around the 'hood for birds congregating at one place on a power line. Now that the cold weather is here, that's a good indication of a high resistance connection generating heat. May be where the noise is coming from. I will check that :)
 

lspecht

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
34
Location
Culpeper, Va
noise

If I understand your initial complaint, when you disconnect power from you house, the noise goes away. Also you said when you use a portable am radio, the further from your house you get, the noise disappears. From what you are saying, I would say the noise source is inside your house.
When walking with a portable am radio, the noise should increase as you near the power line if that is what is causing the interference. I worked noise interference for many years and I have never found a bad transformer. The issue on power lines is usually loose hardware and the loose hardware is usually not on the phase wire. Any loose hardware or connections or even high resistance on the phase wire would quickly cause power outage problems. I can possibly point you where to look after I hear the noise.
 

mrscanner2008

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
246
Location
Quebec, Quebec Canada
If I understand your initial complaint, when you disconnect power from you house, the noise goes away
No even when the house have no power, the noise is still there.

When walking with a portable am radio, the noise should increase as you near the power line if that is what is causing the interference.
The faulty transformer I pinpoint is right in front of my house, so that the reason when I`m far from my house that the noise level decrease.

And for more information: I`ve take the radio and the vertical antenna and tried it at another place (ham buddy house) with no noise. so the radio and vertical antenna have no problems.
 

lspecht

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
34
Location
Culpeper, Va
interference

The sound recordings do have the typical noise caused by electric power lines. Sorry I can't be of much help to you from this distance. Another quick question. Does the noise go away when it is raining? Usually electrical interference from power lines goes away when it is raining UNLESS this is coming from a high voltage transmission line (typically the ones on steel towers or extremely tall poles) When I start lookng for interference, I use various radios and or a Sprague Interference locator and go to the highest possible frequency where I can still hear the interference and start looking for it that way. I usually monitor the air craft bands 120 - 140 MHz. I have had good luck there finding noises. Also you have some entertainment listening to air planes. As you get farther away from the interference source, the signal drops quickly at the higher frequencies. If you are looking for it using HF frequencies, the noise travels much farther over the power line and is more difficult to find. Hopefully your power company will have some trained individual who knows how to locate this and guide the repair crews to repair it. Good luck
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
mrscanner,

It definitely sounds like powerline noise but since you're in USB it's not nearly that bad. You should be able to use a noiseblanker to get rid of most of that. Whenever searching for noise, listen in AM mode.

Also, it doesn't sound like it's actually that close.

Watch my video here: Powerline RFI on 10m - YouTube

This noise was about 500 yards from my antenna and as you can see, very noisy.

Ideally, you'll want to do your best to locate the location of the noise. But you can start with a complaint to your power company. It may take time to resolve it however. Be persistent.

Depending on where you live, another option would be to hire a RFI specialist that can help to locate the exact source of interference. You can certainly attempt to do it yourself as well.

Another site that may interest you: PowerLineNoise.com - Home
 

VA3XDJ

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
81
Location
Ottawa, ON
From what I've heard it could be caused by the new meters that are transmitting usage data over the power lines.

I've heard a rumor that they are partnering with Videotron to offer BPL. (Broadband over Power Line)

I suspect that using filters and ferrite coils will not solve the problem.

Have you tried contacting Hydro regarding this?

I know its a long shot and the solution may arise only from some trial and error.

In any case I wish you the best of luck.
 

VA3XDJ

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
81
Location
Ottawa, ON
I've also been told that using a cold water pipe is bad for grounding because many things can be grounded to them.

I doubt it will help but maybe try a separate grounding rod inserted directly into the soil?
 

VA3XDJ

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
81
Location
Ottawa, ON
There are also devices sold to "condition" the power coming into your home.

Unfortunately they are expensive but they might help clean the power coming into your home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top