• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Problems with Ports

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
32
Location
Medina OH
I need help with the COM Ports! idk how to make this work! please help see pics! how do i fix this? My software doesnt let me change it to any one other then One
 

Attachments

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,601
Location
Eastern MA
You need to find the drivers for the USB to serial adapter you are trying to use. Search for "Prolific USB to serial driver". That should bring you a site that has the drivers. Download and install the drivers and try again.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
32
Location
Medina OH
You need to find the drivers for the USB to serial adapter you are trying to use. Search for "Prolific USB to serial driver". That should bring you a site that has the drivers. Download and install the drivers and try again.
Do i need to uninstall it first? or just download it?
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,765
Location
Bowie, Md.
Did you use this port previously on something like a bluetooth or a USB driven camera software package? Sometimes devices like these will allocate a port and hang it up - even when the device is disconnected.

Just a thought...best regards...Mike
 

OCO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
923
Location
Central Michigan
I don't believe that the device he wants is the Prolific.. If he goes to the bottom of the Kenwood page he posted in the other thread he started, it downloads a Silicon Labs driver, not a Prolific (which may be for another cable/scanner setup)...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
32
Location
Medina OH
I don't believe that the device he wants is the Prolific.. If he goes to the bottom of the Kenwood page he posted in the other thread he started, it downloads a Silicon Labs driver, not a Prolific (which may be for another cable/scanner setup)...
Oh ok let me see about that. thanks
 

OCO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
923
Location
Central Michigan
That's a pretty concise set of instruction - make sure you don't plug anything in until you're totally done with the driver install...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
32
Location
Medina OH
Ok so the its updated all the way but when I try to use it...it says error code 10 so I try to update it but it says windows thinks this is the newest update blah blah blah...so its updated but not working! UGH!
Thanks everyone...
 

cpuerror

Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
1,200
Location
Ontario, Canada
It's probably because you have convertor that doesn't use genuine prolific chips. The OEM drivers won't work with them. But if you go to the download page of my site, I have some older drivers which don't know the difference and should work.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
32
Location
Medina OH
OK so i got the Code 10 error to go away but no luck!!! on the software I cant change it to anything but 1 so i changed 6 to 1 in the device but still didnt work any ideas??????
 

Attachments

JonCinMN

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
26
Location
St. Paul, MN
It's probably because you have convertor that doesn't use genuine prolific chips. The OEM drivers won't work with them. But if you go to the download page of my site, I have some older drivers which don't know the difference and should work.
The software at the bottom of the download page solved my same problem for my Win7 machine, but now I need the one for XP but the links on the FreeScan site are dead.

I was able to google the driver for Win7, but I can't find the XP one anywhere else but your site.

"Windows XP Prolific DriversThese are handy drivers to have if you are using XP or 2000 and the Prolific drivers are producing a “Code 10” error. This frequently happens with cheap $2 USB-Serial adapters. The latest Prolific drivers seem to not get along with them, however, these older “GPS” drivers will work just fine. "

BTW, I've got a cheap cable I bought from MonoPrice and the newer drivers don't work.



Thanks,

Jon
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top