• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

PSR-500 programming question: Motorola Type II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
228
This may be a really dumb question, but I've tried searching the manual and the rr forum and I can't seem to find an answer. I'm trying to add a new TSYS for Great River Energy http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=1219, which is a Motorola Type II SmartZone Omnilink system. I'm pretty sure I understand the Trunking Table options for Offset, Base and Step; but I'm a little confused as to what Lo Chan and Hi Chan are for. Can I leave these set to '0', or do I have to determine what these values are from the database information for the trunking system in question?
 

mikey60

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3,512
Location
Oakland County Michigan
smokeyjones666 said:
This may be a really dumb question, but I've tried searching the manual and the rr forum and I can't seem to find an answer. I'm trying to add a new TSYS for Great River Energy http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=1219, which is a Motorola Type II SmartZone Omnilink system. I'm pretty sure I understand the Trunking Table options for Offset, Base and Step; but I'm a little confused as to what Lo Chan and Hi Chan are for. Can I leave these set to '0', or do I have to determine what these values are from the database information for the trunking system in question?
CH-Lo should be the same as the Offset
Ch-High should be one lower than the next offset, and 759 for the last table.

In this case the tables should be:

Table Ch-Lo Ch-Hi Base Step Offset
0 380 541 451.000 12.5 380
1 542 759 461.100 12.5 542

Mike
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
228
Man that clears up a lot of confusion, thanks! I probably should have been able to figure that out from the wiki page http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Determining_Base/Step/Offset_for_VHF/UHF_Motorola_Systems, but I'm pretty sure I felt my brain melting when I got halfway through the article. I'm assuming that the Chan Hi value of 759 for the second set, is due to a requirement for the total number of channels in the entire system to equal 380?

Perhaps some enterprising soul with time on their hands will create a wiki page entitled "Motorola Trunking Systems for Dummies". ;)
 

LEH

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
1,391
Location
Yorktown, Virginia
Actually, the channel high and lo are something new with the 500. When we figured this out in Oct last year, there were several threads on it.

This is one of those data base updates that would really be nice to see as part of the set up table in the DB.
 

mikey60

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3,512
Location
Oakland County Michigan
LEH said:
Actually, the channel high and lo are something new with the 500. When we figured this out in Oct last year, there were several threads on it.

This is one of those data base updates that would really be nice to see as part of the set up table in the DB.
The Pro-96/2096 also use the Ch-Low and Ch-High settings.

Mike
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
228
Ok, I found the previous discussion: http://www.radioreference.com/forums/showthread.php?t=98431&highlight=Motorola

Apparently, I'm not very good at picking keywords for my searches. ;)

Setting Chan Lo and Chan Hi did the trick, BTW. I left a wildcard TG set to latch the disco light when I went to bed last night, and when I got up this morning the light was on. Now I feel more confident that I can set up some more Motorola trunking systems in my area and see what else is out there.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top