• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

PSR600 "bugging out"

Status
Not open for further replies.

NJEMT12982

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
167
Location
NJ
I have a psr600, its in perfect condition. I take excellent care of it. I turn it on tonight and it won't work. It beeps constantly and flashes. No buttons work no scanning nothing?? I tried factory reset and nothing. Any thoughts or repair shops in northern Jersey???
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,777
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Have you made sure that the power being fed is good? It sounds like the power supply is not able to keep up with the current demand, and dropping voltage. (The voltage cycling up and down, causing the scanner to start the booting sequence.)
 

NJEMT12982

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
167
Location
NJ
I'm using the scanner cable it originally came with. I've tried different outlets around the house. It was working fine earlier. I'm at a loss right now...
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,708
Location
Fortunately, GA
I'm using the scanner cable it originally came with. I've tried different outlets around the house. It was working fine earlier. I'm at a loss right now...
It truly sounds like the AC adapter has bit the dust. Do you have a volt meter to check and see if the adapter is putting out the voltage neccessary? Can you hook up the DC cord to a power supply to see if the scanner works?
HTH,
Larry
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,777
Location
Southeastern Michigan
The meter might not give you a good result, as the power supply might give enough voltage, but not be able to handle the load. (If you can test the voltage with the scanner trying to run, that would be a good test.)
 

sopranosno1

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
521
i had that happen to mine twice since 2008. it is the logic board. mine did the same thing with the constant beeping noise. nothing will work to fix it till you send it to gre.
 

NJEMT12982

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
167
Location
NJ
logic board

What causes that to happen? How much did it cost and how long did it take for it to get repaired by gre?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top